Photoshop 2024 Generative Fill Tips – 16 Fast Tips and tricks

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

The Ultimate Photoshop 2024 Generative Fill Tips guide

When you hit generate in Photoshop Generative Fill, you will see tips. I have assembled all the tips here and will demonstrate each one. I have also thrown in a couple of my own to make it more interesting. Check out the quick video, each tip is a little over 30 seconds on average. Here is my written summary.

I will show each tip and then show you an example.

1. New Languages

It supports over 100 languages now. It will be interesting to see if it generates localized content based on the language. For example, person in Japanese” äşş hito”, might be biased towards generating Japanese people. and localized content, like it does on Mid Journey.

Generating dialog tip: you can write a prompt in more than 100 different languages

2. Pin Taskbar

Generating dialog tip: pin the task bar from the three-dot menu

Click on the menu and choose pin, for the taskbar to stay in position. It now says put even when you relaunch. To find the taskbar choose Window>Taskbar

Contextual taskbar menu with Pin bar position checked

3. Selections matter

Generating dialog tip: only select what you want to change

When you make a selection, remember it will be able to change anything within the selection area, but cannot outside the selection.

If I want to generate a t-shirt, I need to make sure I provide enough room for the shirt, this includes completely selecting what I want to remove as well as providing space for the sleeves, otherwise I’ll get a tank top. At the same time, if I don’t want the hair to change, I shouldn’t include it in the selection.

Lasso selection around the torso of a woman in a black catsuit holding an electric guitar

When we generate, notice the shirt is generated perfectly, but she lost half her hair.

Woman with a guitar now wearing a generated blue T-shirt, variations outlined

4. The shape of the selection is very important

Generating dialog tip: draw your selection in the shape you want to generate

This one is really important, so much so, I created a whole tutorial on selections and generative fill previously 

Make a wide selection and type hat

Wide lasso selection above the woman's head for a hat

We get a wide hat

Wide-brimmed hat generated on the woman with three variations

Make the selection taller

Tall narrow selection drawn above the woman's head

And we get a top hat. Make the selection in the shape you are looking for. In the previous example you will see I made it in the shape of the t-shirt I wanted. This also reduces the amount of “content warnings” you get. But I’ll add another bonus tip on that at the end.

Top hat and pointed witch hat variations generated from the tall selection

5. Change density of Generation

Generating dialog tip: add feathering or opacity with Quick Mask mode

Changing the density of the selection will make semi transparent generations to make things appear underwater or though glass etc.

Start by double clicking Quick mask in the tool box.

Quick Mask mode button outlined in the toolbar

Set the options to Selected areas

Click ok

Quick Mask Options with Selected Areas outlined

Press the Q key to go into Quick Mask

Click the foreground color picker on the bottom of the tool box.

Back will give us 100% dense selection. White will make it invisible or no selection. The lighter the gray the more transparent. (It’s clear in the video at the top)

Choose black

Color Picker grayscale slider labeled 0, 50 and 100 percent

Grab a brush and paint the area to select with black, Make it above the water. (shows red because of quick mask)

Change to a light gray and paint under the water as shown.

Red Quick Mask strokes above and lighter below the waterline in an ocean scene

Press the Q key to change the Quick mask into a selection. The bottom part doesn’t show as a marching ant selection because its less than 50% opacity, but its still selected..

Selection marching ants over the ocean surface, labeled Q key

Type in Whale

Prompt whale typed in the Generative Fill bar

Looks like we got 2 whales. Notice how the bottom part looks underwater because of the gray we painted into the mask.

Two whales generated at the surface, the underwater parts faded

6. Moving a generated layer

Generating dialog tip: move a generative layer and regenerate it in a new position

Here I have generated a truck

Green box truck generated in a snowy park below the Manhattan skyline

We want to change the position. Drag the generated layer to the other side

Notice it doesn’t blend in anymore

Press generate and it will

Truck moved to a new spot with a halo of mismatched background

It now blends but we have a different truck. That’s one of the drawbacks of generative pixels.

Regenerated layer creating a different green SUV instead of the truck

7. Keep the same object but move it. (Bonus tip)

This tip isn’t in the Adobe tips, it’s one of my own.

Instead of hitting generate when we move an object, we need to select just the generated area outside the object.

Original truck in a new spot with the background no longer matching

With the truck layer active. Choose the quick selection tool

Press Select Subject

Select Subject button in the options bar

You will see the truck is selected. Refine the selection if you need to.

Choose Select>Save Selection

Name it truck.

Save Selection dialog naming the channel truck

Now we need to select all the pixels in the Generative fill layer.

Hold down the Alt/Option Key and click on the Mask in the Layers Panel. You will see the selection loads up.

Loose selection around the truck and surrounding snow

Now, to remove the truck from the selection.

Choose Select>Load Selection

Choose truck under the channel

Click on Subject from selection.

Click ok

Load Selection with the truck channel set to Subtract from Selection

Now we have just the extra generated pixels selected.

Selection around the truck's surroundings with the truck itself excluded

Press generate without typing anything into the filed.

And now it blends the image into the background perfectly including shadows.

Same green truck blended naturally into the snowy park

(You may think, you could just select the truck and choose inverse and generate. If you do that, it replaces the ENTIRE background, so you have to do it the way I just showed you).

8, Generate again

Generating dialog tip: generate again to get new variations

If you don’t like the result, press generate again to get 3 more variations.

(bonus tip) this also works after the fact, you can open the image and choose any generative layer to make more variations.

Blue tshirt generative layer selected in the Layers panel

Click generate and get 3 more options each time.

Generate button outlined in the Generative Layer properties for blue tshirt

 

Woman with a guitar in a blue T-shirt with three variations outlined

9. Reduce file size

Generating dialog tip: trim file sizes by deleting unused variations

Each variation contains and image and adds to file file size.

Rollover the unneeded variations and you’ll see a trash can. (Bin for British, Kiwis and Aussies).

Click the trash can to remove the variation

Six blue T-shirt variations with the trash icon on one

Here we just kept the one we need. You can always generate more, it will remember the prompt on the generative layer.

Generative Layer properties with a single remaining variation

10 to remove content

Generating dialog tip: generate without a prompt to remove content

Use the lasso tool to make a selection around objects to remove.

Lasso selection around a rock in crashing surf

Don’t put anything into the text field, just hit generate and it will remove the object, don’t type remove.

Empty prompt with the Generate button outlined

bingo

Rock removed from the surf, replaced with natural waves

Note, you will often Gert faster results with the remove tool, plus it works in high resolution, doesn’t use generative credits and doesn’t need to be connected to the internet. (see Generative Fill vs Remove tool ai here)

11. Don’t micro manage Gen Fill

Generating dialog tip: describe what you want instead of using add, fill or change

When removing objects, some people (too many) think if you type “remove” it will help get a better result.This isn’t the case according to Adobe documentation from day 1.

If you want a boat, just type in “boat” don’t type “add boat” it doesn’t help.

Generated white ferry boat in rough water off a rocky coast

12. Re generate part of a generated image (Bonus tip)

Another of my own tips you don’t find in the Adobe documentation.

The front of this boat looks good, but the back is weird. You don’t have to generate a different boat hoping for a better result.

Just make a selection around the area you don’t like.

Lasso selection around the front of the generated boat

Type in boat and get a better back half. Yay! (Why didn’t I think of that? Oh, wait, I did)

Rocky coast scene with a better generated passenger boat

13. Negative reinforcement

Generating dialog tip: words like remove, no or without can help

You can direct Gen Fill by telling it what you don’t want. Say you ask for an old car, and want a run down modern car for a post apocalyptic scene, and not a classic car. Type “Old car, not classic” for example. (I wish I thought of this example instead of the one I used in the video, it’s a better idea.)

Make a selection around the hand. Type Black Glove not velvet. This way I won’t get a velvet glove for our sports theme.

Lasso selection around a raised hand with the prompt black glove not velvet

Looks like I got a nice latex, and woolen glove collection in the variations.

We didn’t get back either and we got 6 fingers, perfect for the piano part in the movie Gattica. (Its not perfect, but its getting better all the time)

White glove generated instead, labeled it's not black either

14. Generative Expand 

Generating dialog tip: explore Generative Expand from the Crop tool

We can expand the edges of a canvas by generating pixels in the blank areas. I use this one a lot!

Choose the crop tool

Make sure the option is set to Generative Expand from the top toolbar.

Crop tool Fill menu with Generative Expand chosen

With the crop tool, drag outside the image boundaries.

Crop box dragged out beyond a photo of a woman hugging a white dog

Press enter and Generative expand will ex[pand the background to match the image.

Woman and white dog photo expanded with a generated forest floor

15. Generate a Different environment

Generating dialog tip: select your subject, invert and describe a new background

Select your subject, using select subject.

Press Ctrl/Cmd+Shift+I to inverse the selection and select everything but the subject.

Background selected around the woman and dog, labeled Ctrl or Cmd Shift I

Type in something different like beach

Prompt beach typed in the Generative Fill bar

Now we get a different background. (BTW this is what would have happened in tip 7 if we simply inverted the selection)

Woman and white dog now on a generated beach under a cloudy sky

16. Tell Adobe what you think

Generating dialog tip: rate or report your results

When you use Generative Fill, you can rate your result and let Adobe know your thoughts.

Click the menu and choose thumbs up or down, or report or delete.

Task bar menu with Good, Poor, Report variation and Delete variation

A questionnaire will appear. These are read by real people, so this is your chance to be heard by Adobe.

Rate your result questionnaire from Adobe

Here are a few more bonus tips I have for you..

Content Warning

When dealing with people mostly, you might get a false content warning. To get around that, type a period only “.” into the box and generate.

Create in High Resolution

Photoshop generates in 1024 x 1024 blocks at the moment. See my tutorial on how to get High Resolution in Generative fill. Also includes a free action.

Mixing Variations hack

See how to mix variations to get a perfect result

Bonus tip: My new Course on Generative Fill

As you may know, I made a course on Generative fill (the first and as far as I know, the only course) and everything on the course works exactly the same in the final release, except you don’t have to download the beta anymore. If you missed the discount before, I thought it would only be fair to offer it again here if you are now ready to jump in.

I’ll give you a week to use the code GENFILL2 to save 20%.  Grab it here (If you already bought the course, you don’t need to buy again, it’s unchanged, as the features are unchanged)

Generative Fill in Photoshop course banner by Colin Smith

Check out the ai Art category here at photoshopCAFE for many more tips and tutorials on this topic.

Thanks for checking this out, I hope it helped you! Tell your friends about the CAFE.

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Recommended for this tutorial

Complete Guide to ai in Photoshop 2026

Generative Fill, Firefly, Harmonize and every AI tool in Photoshop, step by step.

$79.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

3 comments

  1. abelcarolj

    very useful – will you be making this available as a PDF download, please? I would like to be able to consult this offline.

  2. evelzyn pere

    Great video and I love the notes that I can print. Video is short and to the point and you make it look sooo easy. Love your channel.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link