How to combine photos in Photoshop for beginners

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

How to realistically combine photos in Photoshop for Beginners.

â–ş Download the practice images here:

This photoshop tutorial shows you how to combine images so they look like a single image. I have made the steps niuce and simple so you can follow along and apply these steps your own images.

Step 1. How to Combine images in Photoshop

Open the 2 images File>Open

Windmill in a green field under a bright sun, labeled Choose File then Open

To combine the 2 images (Watch the video to learn about resolution and which picture to use as the base, I skipped over this in the steps to make it easier)

Choose the move tool

Click in the center of the lion image

With the mouse still pressed, drag the pointer up to the tab of the image you want to move the lion into.

Lion photo dragged toward the windmill document tab, marked with a red arrow

The second image will open. With the mouse still down, drag into the center of the new image.

Windmill document opening as the lion is dragged onto its tab

Hold the Shift key (to center) and then release the mouse.

You will now have a single document with 2 images as layers. (See the layers panel)

Lion photo placed as a new layer in the windmill document

Here the 2 images are on layers, we need to blend them together now.

Layers panel with the lion on Layer 1 above the windmill Background

Step 2: How to remove the background from a layer

The first thing we need to do is remove the background from the lion picture, so the new background can show through.

Let’s shrink the image of the lion a little bit.

Choose Ctrl/Cmd+T for free transform.

Drag the handles to make the lion smaller.

Lion layer resized with Free Transform, labeled Ctrl or Cmd T

If the image distorts, hold down the Shift Key to constrain the proportions. If it doesn’t distort, you don’t need to hold downShift. (Its now a toggle and could be working either way).

Here is the result.

Smaller lion layer over the windmill field

To cut out the subject…

Choose the Quick Selection Tool

Click select Subject from the top bar

You will see a selection around the lion

Object Selection, Quick Selection and Magic Wand tools in the toolbar flyout

Choose Select and Mask

Select and Mask button highlighted next to Select Subject

This will take you into select and mask where you can refine the edges of the selection.

Lion selected in the Select and Mask workspace over the windmill background

Choose the refine brush (usually its selected by default)

Close-up of the lion's mane edge before refining

Drag the brush over the edges of the fur

Refine Edge Brush stroke painted over the lion's mane

When you release the brush, it will improve the selection around the edges of fur and hair

Lion's mane edge refined with fine hair detail

Turn on Decontaminate Colors, Choose New Layer with Layer Mask and Click ok.

Decontaminate Colors checked with Output To New Layer with Layer Mask

The lion is now cut out. It’s the same process for a person or anything really.

Press Ctrl/Cmd+T for Free Transform once again.

Size and position your lion.

Press Enter to apply

Lion cut out and positioned in the grass beside the windmill

Step 3: How to match the colors and lighting

The lion is in position, but the color and tone don’t match the background yet.

Lion standing in the field by the windmill, labeled Match the Colors

With the lion layer selected, choose Image>Adjustments>Match Color

Under source, choose the image you are working on

Match Color dialog with the lion layer as the destination

In Layer, choose the layer you want to copy the colors from. This will be the background

You will see the adjustment applied to the lion

Use the fade to reduce the intensity of the adjustment

Match Color source set to the windmill background with the Fade setting outlined

This is looking good.

Click OK

Lion warmed to match the sunny windmill scene with Fade at 54

Step 4: How to create realistic shadows in Photoshop

Now the lion matches the background, but we need a shadow to anchor it into the scene. This is the step that adds a lot of the realism.

Choose the Lion layer and click the fx at the bottom of the layers panel

Choose Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow chosen from the fx layer style menu

Apply a black drop shadow. Don’t worry about the angle and everything at this point, we are just looking for a black silhouette

Click OK

Drop Shadow settings with Distance at 0 and Size at 40

We want to make the shadow a regular pixel layer

Right Click on the drop shadow and choose Create Layer

Create Layer chosen from the drop shadow right-click menu

The shadow is now a normal layer.

Choose the shadow layer and press Cmd/Ctrl+T

Right-Click and choose Flip Vertical

Flip Vertical chosen from the Free Transform menu for the shadow

The shadow layer will now be flipped.

Drag the shadow underneath the lion

Flipped shadow dragged below the lion's feet

Right-Click and choose skew

Drag the bottom of the shadow to change the angle to match the light direction

Shadow distorted to angle away from the sun

Reposition and press Enter to apply.

Lion with a cast shadow on the grass in the composite

The shadow is in position. We need to soften it

Choose Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur.

14.8 makes this shadow nice and soft.

Press ok.

Gaussian Blur at 14.8 pixels softening the lion's shadow

Adjust the opacity of the shadow so it isn’t so dark.

Shadow layer opacity lowered to 50 percent

And there is the shadow.

I have a more accurate way of making shadows (based on this method), My next tutorial will be on just making a shadow, I want to keep this tutorial as simple as possible since it’s a whole walk through of the entire image..

Close-up of the lion walking through the grass with a soft realistic shadow

Step 5, adding a Color Grade.

Nothing brings a room together more than a rug.

Nothing brings different layers together more than an overall color grade. It also adds flavor.

Here is a fast way.

Choose the top Layer

Create a new Color Adjustment layer

Color blend mode chosen for the Color Fill layer

Choose your color.

Color Picker choosing a green for the color grade

Change the blending mode (normal) to Color

Reduce the opacity to suit your taste.

Color Fill 1 layer at 27 percent opacity in Color mode

Because its an adjustment layer, you can click on the color and change it any time you like, each color will give the composite a different feel or mood.

Final composite of a lion walking past a windmill with a warm color grade

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Don’t forget to watch the video at the top for clarity on these steps and extra tips.

Keep your eyes open for the next tutorial, which is creating super realistic shadows

Thanks

Colin

If you like this tutorial, check out my new course on Learning Layers in Photoshop 

learn layers in Photoshop


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

29 comments

  1. RAVINDRA SHAH

    YUO ARE A GOOD TEACHER FOR ME SO RESPECT IS ALWAYS IN MY HEART I HAVE ALREAY BAUGHT YOUR NEW COURSE LAYERS

  2. Dennis Zito

    Hi Colin,
    Great Tutorial!!! I’ve always had a couple of problems and you solved them both with this tutorial. First, was using the larger image to scale down … never thought of that. Second was how you made the shadow layer from the drop shadow. Great!
    Thanks again,
    Dennis

  3. Witta Priester

    A WONDERFUL tutorial. Plenty to learn (even for the experienced Photoshopper) and so clearly explained! Thank you Colin!

  4. Janice Jones

    Very much liked this tutorial as I am working on such a project. I have purchased the Layers class and I am learning and enjoying it as well. Thank you. Keep them coming.

  5. Sharon Chester

    Great tutorial for all levels of users. You hit just the right tone — no talking down to beginners and yet very informative for advanced users. Like to see more of this type of video.

  6. Marlene Schonbrun

    So we’ll explained. I can’t wait to get home and try the different tools you used.

  7. MARLEEN

    Wow this was awesome. Thank you a lot of info in one tutorial. Love it.

  8. John Alan Day

    Thank you Colin! Layers is an awesome course. The thing with photoshop is you must use it often or you lose it quickly.

  9. Lois Puttbach

    Thanks for a great tutorial, Colin. I only wish you had included written steps as well, as I always print them out so I can follow step-by-step on future projects. without having to constantly refer back to the video.

  10. Jack Sofield

    Very useful info. However the skewed shadows seem to only apply to the forward most leg. The other leg shadows are not in the correct position. They should all skew in the same direction since the sun is in one position.

  11. When might we expect the written tutorial? Those are always very helpful!

  12. Elaine Pullum

    This is just great, can’t wait to try these methods in my own work. Thank you!

  13. Wilson Silva

    Hi, it would very useful have the images to follow up the tutorial.

  14. Ragini C

    Dear Colin, as always, it is so hood learning with your tutorials. I wish you could do a beginners tutorial for a Full detailed Moon composite with a pretty background.. In the exactly same view where it has been clicked. .Hope you find time to do that please. 🙏

  15. thanks Colin. Yesterday I tried to combine images and gave up. This tut has inspired me to give it another go. Thanks for your explanations

  16. thanks Colin. Yesterday I tried to combine images and gave up. This tut has inspired me to give it another go. Thanks for your explanations

  17. Robert Wennerberg

    It’s was mind blowing to see hove you created the shadow at 5:06 have never thin on use layer style that way, thanks Colin.

  18. KATHY BURTON

    Thanks Colin , your tutorials are so easy to understand. Thank You for your wonderful explanations!

  19. Tony Howe-Haysom

    Thanks Colin !
    I like the simplicity of your tutorials it really helps making the learning easier to absorb and remember.

  20. Thanks Colin for another awesome tutorial. I always get great value from your teachings.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link