How to make Landscape photos look better, in depth Photoshop photo editing tutorial

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

Editing Landscape photos in Photoshop, full workflow

In this tutorial, I show you my entire workflow for editing landscape pictures. Please watch the video to see a lot of steps that would be missed in the written steps. This is my general workflow, sometimes I might use additional tool and other times, I might skip some of these steps. I hope you enjoy it and find it useful.

We are using a photograph that I shot out of a helicopter in Kauai recently.

I was using a Sony A1 with 24-70 G master lens (at 24mm). I shot at ISO 100 (to keep noise low) F4 to open up the iris and allow for a faster shutter speed. 1/640 shutter speed. I made an effort to use a faster shutter speed because the helicopter was moving. I shot the image in RAW, as I always do. Even if you don’t have a RAW file, the process is exactly the same. I am using Photoshop 2022, but these main steps will work on any version of Photoshop

Start in Camera RAW

Choose File>Open. Because its RAW it will open into ACR, Photoshop’s RAW editor. You can right-click and choose open in Camera Raw on other formats, such as jpg, tif from Bridge.

Aerial raw photo of green Kauai farmland and hills under cloud, open in Camera Raw

First step is to apply a color profile.

Choose the square button by profile

Profile browser button beside Adobe Color in the Camera Raw Basic panel

Slick on the different profiles and see which one gives you the best starting point. These profiles can vary the way the photo looks substantially. I go much more in depth in my Camera RAW course if you are interested in learning more. 

Camera Raw profile browser with Camera Matching thumbnails for the aerial landscape

When you have chosen the Profile, click the back button to go back to the basic adjustments.

Back button to return from the Profile browser to the Edit panel

Now it’s time to make the basic adjustments. Don’t be fooled by the name of the basic panel. This panel is very powerful.

First thing, I recover shadow and highlight detail. Don’t be alarmed if these movements look extreme. I was taught to do this by Thomas Knoll (The man who created Photoshop and Camera Raw). Thomas, pushes them to their absolute limit. I don’t alsways move them that much, depends on the image.

Highlights -88 and Shadows +84 recovering detail in the aerial landscape

Let’s add some punch to the shadows and highlights by moving the blacks and whites. This adds contrast.

Whites +31 and Blacks -32 adding punch to the landscape

Add some punch and detail in the details section with the Texture and tiny bit of dehaze. I rarely use Clarity, because it makes the photo look to fake to me.

Texture +38 and Dehaze +18 adding detail to the aerial landscape

Go to the Optics section.

Enable Profile corrections to reduce lens distortion and vignette. Here is sees I was using a Sony A1 with 24-70 G master lens.

Optics panel with Use profile corrections checked for the Sony FE 24-70mm lens

Hold down the Shift key to change Open to Open Object and click.

Open Object button highlighted at the bottom of Camera Raw

This opens the image as a smart object. Always use a smart object when you can because it preserves the image and allows you to go back into Camera Raw by double clicking the thumbnail.

Layers panel with the raw photo as a smart object layer

Dodge and Burn in Photoshop

At this point, I wan to make 2 Dodge and Burn passes.

The first pass is for composition and the second pass is to add dimension and shape. (See my dodging and burning course here if you want to really learn this powerful technique)

Hold down the Alt/Option key and click on the create new layer icon. This opens the new layer options.

Change to Overlay blending mode and turn on Fill with gray. (Filling with gray is optional, but I find I get less banding than using a transparent layer).

New Layer dialog naming the layer DB, Overlay mode, filled with 50% gray

Press Ctrl/Cmd+J to duplicate the gray layer. Because it’s in overlay mode, the gray will be hidden.

Use one of these layers to darken and the other to lighten. I always darken first. I don’t really have a reason, its just the way i do it.

Layers panel with gray Light and DB overlay layers above the photo

Press the D key to reset foreground and background color. Make sure black is the foreground color.

Choose a brush and use the soft round option.

If you are using a pressure sensitive tablet such as a Wacom, click the folder with the brush,

Brush tool options with a 900 px soft brush

Turn on Transfer and set Opacity to pen pressure.

Brush Settings Transfer set to Opacity Jitter with Pen Pressure control

If you don’t have a tablet, you can use your mouse, just set main opacity to 20-30%. Otherwise keep it at 100% Drop flow down to 10%. I have a tutorial on the difference between flow and opacity here. 

Brush Opacity 100% and Flow 10% in the options bar

With the gray dodge burn layer selected, begin to paint (The video at top shows the brush strokes)

Here i have painted on the clouds to darken them. Also around the edges, to draw the eye into the photo.

Aerial landscape with clouds and edges darkened by burning

Choose the other gray layer and use a white color for the brush. I painted a lighter path into the middle of the photo, to simulate sunlight.

The landscape with a lighter path painted through the middle, Layers panel showing the Light layer

Dodging and Burn to add depth

Use a smaller black brush and start to paint into the shadows to deepen them. Make sure you are using the shadow layer again (Burn).

Shadows deepened with a small black brush for more depth

Grab the white brush and paint in the highlight details, you really need to see the video if you haven’t, to see this in action, it makes a huge difference.

Highlight details painted in, the aerial landscape now with more depth

Let’s create a flattened layer on top of all the other layers.

Cmd+Option+Shift+E on Mac. On Windows use Ctrl+Alt+Shift+E

Layers panel with a merged Layer 3 above the DB group

Filter>Camera Raw

At this point, Take it back to camera Raw and give it a few tweaks. I added a little contrast and tiny bit of vibrance.

Click OK

The merged layer in the Camera Raw Filter for final adjustments

Sharpen your photo in Photoshop

Let’s sharpen. But rather than use Unsharp Mask which works well, we will use a more advanced High-Pass Sharpening.

Press Ctrl/Cmd+J to duplicate the top layer

Change to Overlay Mode. It will look dark right now, but its just a transitional move.

Layer 3 copy set to Overlay for sharpening

Choose Filter>OtherHigh Pass. The colors will go back to normal.

Adjust the Radius to change the amount of sharpening. Try to keep it subtle. No sizzle please (When the light tones turn to white because of over sharpening). I call it sizzle, and not in a good way.

High Pass filter at Radius 2.5 pixels on the landscape

Click ok and we are done.

Final edited aerial landscape of Kauai with depth and detail in Photoshop

I hope you enjoyed this look int my editing workflow.

Thanks everyone!

Great to see you at the CAFE

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

8 comments

  1. Pssequimages

    Exceptional! So much more dramatic, so much more like your eye saw that from the helicopter. This was my biggest challenge in my Hawaii helicopter shots and you showed me how–now! Thank you again, Colin

  2. I have been trying various methods to learn photoshop for the past six years! Classes, books, videos, tutoring, nothing stuck. This is the best video tutorial I have ever seen on photo editing. He goes slowly and explains why each step is important. I am buying his entire photoshop series so I can finally learn it correctly. Thank you Colin.

  3. CAROL BELL

    Colin I have just started doing landscape panorama’s after watching your tutorials. Now I have to learn to edit them in PS (which is new to me) (I know LR)…… you have and are giving me so much inspiration and I am learning so much from you. Thankyou. (Only wish the R/$ was better then I would buy tutorials!!!!

  4. Eberhard Haberkorn

    Thank you very much Collin. Stunning tutorial. Need to try it myself on some of my photos.

    Agree with Carol, currently the exchange rate ZAR/$ is not very favorable at the moment.

  5. Brian

    Really excellent workflow and easy to follow explanation. I’m glad to have found your tutorials. Thank you!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link