How to cut out Glass, Smoke + Water in Photoshop

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

How to make see through glass and smoke in Photoshop

Ultimate Free Photoshop tutorial on how to Cut out glass, vapor, liquid and make it see through. Make transparent selections in Photoshop

I think you are really going to enjoy this week’s tutorial. I’ve been working very hard on this because I know that it’s going to be a favorite. So many people don’t know where to start when it comes to cutting out transparent and semi transparent objects in Photoshop such as glass, smoke, water etc. This method that I’m about to tech you is what I have been using for years in my commercial work and with a little patience, I hope this workflow will serve you as well as it has me.

For this tutorial, rather than use my own photos, I decided to grab a couple of images from Adobe stock: This way you can grab them yourself and follow along.

White smoke drifting along the bottom of a black background, the smoke stock photo Empty clear glass bottle with a cork stopper on a white background Surfer in a pink bikini diving under a wave with her surfboard, the underwater background

Extracting Glass and keeping control over the transparency

Step 1

Before I begin, let me proactively address a question I’ll get. “This glass is against a solid color, its easy compared to a complex background.” #1 I’m using Stock, why would you use a stock photo that has a complex background, choose a different photo. #2 if you are photographing it yourself. Why are you photographing objects with a busy background? Its so easy to set up a piece of seamless paper or even hold a sheet behind it. If you have a complex background, it’s better t reshoot or use a different image. However, if you are forced to use a complex image, I have a different tutorial for that here. 

 

Let’s begin by cutting out the glass bottle. This technique is going to give you a crazy amount of control and make the glass see through, you can control how see through it will be!  The first thing, is to use the quick selection tool.
Quick Selection Tool in the Photoshop toolbar

Drag it over the white area to make a selection. If you go too far, you can exclude areas of the selection by alt/option and clicking with the tool.

Marching ants around the glass bottle after selecting the white background

Inverse the selection: Ctrl+Shift+I (Cmd+Shift+I mac)

Step 2

To check how good your selection is, tap the “Q” key for quickmask

Here we need to clean it up a little bit on the edges.

Red Quick Mask over the bottle showing rough edges to clean up

Choose a small hard brush. Set the color to black and paint in the areas to touch up. (Tip: Click, hold down Shift and click again to draw a straight line)

Bottle edges touched up with a small black brush in Quick Mask

Tap Q again to toggle back to a selection

Step 3

Press Ctrl/Cmd+J to copy the selection to a new layer

We have now cut out the bottle shape, but not the transparency yet.

Glass bottle cut out on a transparent background, still fully opaque

Step 4

Let’s cut out the transparency, shall we?

Make sure the background is selected. (Hide the top layer for now)

Choose Select>Color Range

Color Range chosen from the Photoshop Select menu

When Color range opens, choose Highlights from the Select menu

Adjust the Range until you see a nice clean silhouette of the bottle shape (Fuzziness at 0 for now)

Color Range set to Highlights with Fuzziness 0 showing a black bottle silhouette

Once the range is set, adjust the Fuzziness until you see a nice gray in the transparent area. (Black is selected, gray is semi transparent selected and white is unselected)

Color Range Fuzziness raised to 24 so the glass shows gray transparency

Step 5

Click ok, and you will see marching ants on the bottle. Any areas that are less than 50% transparent won’t show marching ants, but will still be selected.

Marching ants on the bottle's transparent areas after Color Range

Make sure that the background is the active layer as shown here.

 

 

Background layer active below Layer 1 with the bottle selection loaded

 

Click on the Mask button to mask out the transparency. (If yours look the opposite, undo, hold down Alt/Option as you click the mask button).

Bottle masked so the glass is see-through on a transparent background

Step 6

We are missing some key parts to the bottle, let’s fix that now.

Duplicate the Layer 1 (extracted bottle) layer by clicking on it and pressing Ctrl/Cmd+J or drag it into the new layer icon in the Layers panel

Hide the top layer. You should now see the bottle as opaque again.

Layers panel with Layer 1 copy, Layer 1 and the masked Layer 0

Create a hidden mask, but Alt/Option clicking on the layer mask button.

Layer 1 with a black hidden mask added, the bottle mostly transparent

 

Choose the brush tool and white as the foreground color

White brush ready to paint on Layer 1's hidden mask

 

With the layer mask selected on the middle layer, paint around the edges of the bottle to make the important areas fully visible.

Bottle edges painted back in to make the glass look solid at the sides

 

Now we have a really cool setup. Turn on the top layer and adjust the opacity to control the transparency of the bottle. Pretty neat huh?

Top layer opacity at 63 percent controlling the glass transparency

Step 7

Let’s composite it into another photo, while keeping the setup so we can change our glass transparency.

Before we move it into another photo, let’s box everything up, just like you would with your stuff if you were moving house.

Select all the layers and Press Ctrl/Cmd+G to move it all into a group. I named the group, bottle

Bottle layers grouped in a folder named bottle

Combining photos in Photoshop

Make sure your destination photo is open in Photoshop. (The surfer girl).

Step 8

With the move tool (V) drag your bottle into the tab at the top for the new image (Don’t release yet) wait for the image to open and then move your pointer into the middle of the new document. Release, and your bottle group has been added to the surfer photo. How to combine images in Photoshop made easy.

Scale and position the bottle (Ctrl/Cmd+T to resize the bottle)

Glass bottle placed over the underwater surfer photo with the surfer visible through it

If you expand the bottle group, you will see that you can still adjust the transparency. This is important, because you can see it better on a background and probably want to reduce the transparency a little bit.

Layer 1 copy opacity labeled controls the transparency of the glass

Creating Lens Refraction in Photoshop

We have added the bottle, but it’s still missing a little something to make it look realistic. That is called refraction. Refraction is how something distorts through a lens, that lens could be eyeglasses, water drops, glass or any transparent object that isn’t perfectly flat. This will change our image from a bottle slapped on to a photo, into a well composited glass object in a scene. Here we go…

Step 9

Hold Ctrl/Cmd and click on the layer thumbnail of the bottle (top layer) this loads the selection for the bottle.

Bottle selection loaded by Cmd or Ctrl clicking the bottle layer thumbnail

Choose the Background in the Layers panel

Background layer selected below the bottle group

 

Press Cmd/Ctrl+J to copy a selection of the background to a new layer.

Bottle-shaped piece of the background copied to Layer 2

 

Hide the Bottle group so we can see the selected layer (you won’t see anything different yet)

Bottle group hidden with Layer 2 selected

 

Here is the selected layer in the shape of the bottle. Let’s distort it!

Bottle-shaped selection on the underwater background ready to distort

Step 10

Choose Filter>Distort>Spherize  (You could use any of the distort tools, including liquify for this step)

Spherize filter set to 80 percent on the bottle-shaped selection

 

Click ok to apply the effect to the selection. Sometimes you might need to apply it again if the result isn’t strong enough (Ctrl/Cmd+F)

Water and surfer's legs distorted inside the bottle shape after Spherize

 

Ctrl/Cmd+D to turn off the selection.

Turn our bottle layers back on and lookie! We have glass refraction. Cool!

Bottle back on with the surfer's legs refracted through the glass

 

Photoshop CC Selection Secrets

New Course by Colin Smith

Stop struggling with selections. Learn how to select and cut out anything from people, hair, trees, complex shapes and even transparency.
Discover how to get perfect edges, without halos and jaggies. Colin shows you exactly how in 18 lessons.
All the images are included for you to follow along.
You will be able to select and cut out anything: faster and cleaner. 

selections and masks in Photoshop CC

More info here

Cutting out Smoke in Photoshop

Now we are going to cut out smoke and do a little tweaking for a cool effect. I’m really doing this so you can see how to cut out vapors in Photoshop as well as a cool creative idea.

Step 11

Start with the smoke image

Smoke stock photo of white vapor on black

As before, choose Select>Color Range

Grab highlights again and use the settings shown here.

Click ok

Color Range set to Highlights with Fuzziness 80 to select the smoke

The smoke is selected.

Marching ants selecting the white smoke

Step 12

Click on the add layer mask button (Rectangle with a circle in the middle)

Add layer mask button at the bottom of the Layers panel

Now you have the smoke masked out

Smoke masked on a transparent background

Make sure you choose the layer and not the mask in the layers panel.

Smoke layer and mask in the Layers panel with the layer thumbnail chosen

Step 13

Drag it into our composite image exactly the same way we did with the bottle.

(Note: The process for selecting water and liquids is identical, but you can easily make liquid brushes, which are great for splashes)

Drag the smoke layer to the top of the layer stack

Position and size the smoke to suit your tastes.

Smoke positioned along the bottom of the underwater bottle composite

Colorizing vapor in Photoshop.

Let’s add some color to the smoke

Step 14

Create a new Hue/Saturation adjustment layer by clicking the yin/yang shape at the bottom of the layers panel and choosing Hue/Saturation

Right now if I make adjustments, it will affect the entire image, I only want to change the smoke

Hue Saturation adjustment added above the smoke layer

Click the clip to layer icon at the bottom of the properties panel to isolate the adjustment to only the layer beneath the adjustment layer (our smoke layer)

Clip to layer button circled in the Hue Saturation properties

 

Make some adjustments to add an aqua hue to the smoke. Notice that lowering the Lightness slightly allows us to add color to white.

Smoke tinted aqua with Hue at minus 23, Saturation 78 and Lightness minus 15

Step 15

Here is the image and the layers panel visible after the adjustments. Adjust the Opacity of the smoke to blend it in nicely.

Smoke layer opacity lowered to blend into the underwater scene

 

If I hide the background you can see the work we have done on the transparency. Didi you think you would be doing this in Photoshop? It’s fun!

Glass bottle and aqua smoke on a transparent background with the photo hidden

 

Finishing Touches

Here is a step I like to perform on all my composites (another word for collages). Let’s do some overall grading in Camera Raw (Photoshop CC step only)

Step 16

Let’s make a layer on top that contains all the layers combined.
Select all the layers and Press Ctrl+Alt+Shift+E (Cmd+Option+Shift+E Mac).

Merged Layer 4 stamped above all the layers

With our new, top layer active choose Filter>Camera Raw Filter

You can see the adjustments I made to the color and tone, to give a little more pop to the image.

Composite in the Camera Raw Filter with contrast, clarity and vibrance adjusted

And here is the final.

Final composite of a glass bottle and aqua mist beside a surfer diving under a wave

Some may ask why I used this method rather than using blending modes. The result is a little different with the modes, Using Screen actually works quite well for the smoke, but we lose a lot of the color in glass if we do it that way. I do have a really good tutorial on Blending modes too, check it out here. 

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, it was more “old school PhotoshopCAFE” with the step by step written instructions to go with the video, Keep checking your favorite PhotoshopCAFE tutorials, because I’m doing this to every free tutorial, to make sure that PhotoshopCAFE continues to have the best tutorials on the internet 🙂

Don’t forget to browse my hundreds of free Photoshop tutorials, you might be surprised by the quality and amount of our free content

Colin

Alternative method for CS6 submitted by Jeremiah Keeneham

I received an email from Jeremiah Keeneham (thanks!), he says that there were problems completing the steps in CS6 and he has figured out a work-around. Jeremiah was kind enough to write out all the steps and I’ll share them with you. (Since I no longer use CS6, I’m unable to provide support on his steps). Here is his tutorial…<< (Colin)

HOW TO CUT OUT A GLASS BOTTLE FROM A BACKGROUND AND MAKE IT SEE-THRU TRANSPARENT FOR USE WITH ANOTHER IMAGE

Like everything else in Photoshop, there’s multiple ways to skin the cat – this being one that seems pretty simple to me – and I love ‘simple’ when it comes to Photoshop.

 

  1. Dupe the background layer and name it the ‘Bottle-only’ layer.
  2. With the Bottle-only layer active.
    • Select the bottle from the background using the usual tools (quick selection tool, refine edge and edit mask mode or whatever you prefer) and save it as the ‘Bottle’ selection (I always save selections in case I want to go back to them).
    • Select / Inverseand save it as the ‘Background’ selection.
    • With the Background selection active: Edit / Clearso the bottle is now on a transparent background.
    • Select the inside section of the bottle using your preferred selection tools and save it as the ‘Inside Bottle’ selection.
    • With the Inside Bottle selection active: Edit / Clearso the inside of the bottle is now completely see-thru and transparent.

If you want to lower the opacity of the inside of the bottle so it is a little bit cloudy instead of crystal clear, I’m sure there are more sophisticated ways, but you could try this which seems ‘dirt simple’ to me.

  1. With the Bottle-Only layer active.
    • Add a new empty layer above it and name it the ‘Inside Bottle’ layer.
    • Load the ‘Inside Bottle’ selection that you saved above.
    • With the Inside Bottle selection still active: Edit / Fillwith “White”.
    • Lower the opacity of the Inside Bottle layer to perhaps 50pct or whatever looks good to you.

Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

12 comments

  1. David H Jones

    This is way kool. I’m looking forward to using it. Thank you, DJ

  2. Excellent tutorial. I love the written material & pics under the video. Really handy for checking while I’m learning.

  3. Great stuff, so much easier to follow with written tut & images. (With YouTube trying to follow a vid & needing to constantly switch between instructions & working in PS is no fun).

  4. Rory Tate

    Colin, you did it again. This is indeed a very classy series of effects which can be used in many real world instances. It is simple, effective and a great deal of fun!!!

  5. Trine Christiansen

    Thank you for an amasing tutorial. Unfortunately the color range selection doesn’t work the same way in CS6. But I managed to make an ok result anyway. So thanks a lot 🙂

  6. silversky26

    Thanks for another great video. We go find some of my own image and try it again

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link