Creating Starburst glints of light in Photoshop Photoshop Tutorial
How to create glints of light in Photoshop, starburst effect.
Step 1
First thing we need to do is create a new document. I set my background to black to that I can see the white glint that we will prepare.
 Create a new layer and choose the line tool (Hidden under the rectangle shape tool in the toolbox)
Choose 2 pixels and the draw pixel option from the options bar
Step 2
 
Set white as your foreground color and draw a short dash(A)Â Hold the Shift key to constrain the rotation to a horizontal line
Choose Filter>Blur>Motion Blur as shown in (B). Add enough distance to get a nice tapered look. Make sure the angle matches the angle of the line.
Step 3
Duplicate the Layer with the dash on it
Press Ctrl (Windows) /Cmd (Mac) +T for free transform
Rotate the dash while holding down shift to constrain the rotation
Step 4
Choose both dash Layers and press Ctrl/Cmd+E to merge them. Careful not to merge with background
Duplicate the merged dash layer (Ctrl/Cmd+J)
Press Ctrl/Cmd+T for free transform Rotate 45 deg, grab a corner point and scale toward the center to make the new star smaller (hold down alt/option+shift to scale from center and constrain)
Step 5
You now have your starburst and you may be happy right here. For those of you who want to add a lens flare to the starburst continue…
Grab the elliptical marquee tool (circular selection tool)
Create a selection over the starburst
Step 6
Choose a 1 pixel white stroke
Deselect
Choose Filter>Blue>Gaussian Blur to soften the effect
Click ok and we’re all done!
Step 7
Merge the layers together to use on your illustrations and photos.
Note: You can save them as a smart object, or add them to your creative cloud Library if you have cc. What is a Library and how do you use it?
Another option is to make a custom brush: Flatten the whole thing, choose Ctrl/Cmd+I to inverse and then make a selection around the starburst. Choose Edit>Define Custom Brush.
Here are a few examples of use
Enjoy.
DONE!
Keep growing with Premium Courses
Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers
Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.
$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download
Free for you
The Photoshop Vault
Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.
You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.
Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault
Placing a person inside a picture Photoshop Tutorial
In this tutorial I will demonstrate how to place a person inside an image using the "paste into" command. You can use... Read tutorial
3D Cubes Photoshop Tutorial
I have been asked a few times, how to make a 3d cube in Photoshop. here is the manual method. This tutorial... Read tutorial
Turning on lights in Photoshop tutorial
In this Photoshop tutorial, I’m going to show you how to turn on the lights in a photo. I made this car composite where... Read tutorial
Tron Perspective Grid glowing lines Photoshop Tutorial
How to make a grid pattern in Photoshop. Turn it into perspective and make all the lines glow in Photoshop. I call... Read tutorial
Photorealistic brick wall Photoshop Tutorial
In this Photoshop Tutorial we are going to create a photorealistic brick wall. First we will make the brick pattern, then we... Read tutorial






