How to make apple Liquid Glass effect in Photoshop

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

How to make apple Liquid Glass effect in Photoshop

When Apple announced their Liquid Glass redesign at WWDC on Monday, I knew I had to make a tutorial on this. This change is bound to set off a number of design trends and I figured you would want to know how to create this effect for yourself. (I worked hard on coming up with this technique, so if you see it somewhere else, it was copied from here. Posted on Jun 11, 2025)

Finished Apple-style Liquid Glass tile in Photoshop, blurring the photo behind it with a colored edge

This is fun! I have 2 versions here. The fast and easiest way to get the effect for beginners and then a more advanced method that shows you what you need to get something that looks very close to the apple Liquid Glass effect, that apple will use in all their upcoming interfaces. As usual, the video at the top shows step by step and is easy to follow.

DOWNLOAD THE LAYER STYLE OF THIS HERE.  | GET MANY MORE ADD-ONS LIKE THIS HERE.  
To install it, choose Layer Styles hamburger menu on top right and choose import styles.

Method 1. Liquid Glass on Text

This first method reveals the key steps to getting the result. The 2nd method used a tile rather than text. Either method can be used on anything, text shapes etc.

With an image open, choose the type tool and grab a nice heavy font.

Type tool options bar in Photoshop with Proxima Nova Black chosen as the font

In this case, we typed Liquid Glass, you can use anything.

The words Liquid Glass typed in large white bold letters over a photo of a woman at a laptop

Choose the Layer Styles. This first method is pretty old school, but I modernize this in the 2nd method.

Layers panel with the Liquid Glass type layer selected and the fx Layer Styles button highlighted

Choose Bevel and Emboss

Layer Styles menu with Bevel & Emboss highlighted

We will go through the settings in a moment.

Bevel & Emboss settings: Inner Bevel, Smooth, Depth 1000%, Size 9 px, angle 142

Choose Blending Options.

Reduce Fill opacity to 0.

Now you see just the layer style without the pixel layer. This is the core of the transparent effect.

Blending Options with Fill Opacity at 0%, leaving only the beveled outline of the text

If you want a little shade, add a color overlay, choose white and adjust the transparency (opacity).

Color Overlay in white at low opacity, giving the clear text a slight frosted tint

Go back to Bevel and emboss.

Change the gloss contour to add some shine and reflection to the bevel.

Gloss Contour picker open in Bevel & Emboss to add shine to the glass text

This gives you a basic glassy look.

Close-up of the finished glassy Liquid Glass text with shiny beveled edges over the photo

Method 2. Liquid Glass effect with some realism.

Now, we will make a more realistic version. It’s based on the principles from the first example, but a different approach.

If you look at the Apple Liquid Glass images on their website, you will see there are a few variations, but they all have certain things in common. This tut will equip you do make any of them.

If you observe, you will see the image is blurred behind the icons. Also see the refraction around the edges? Some have a colored hint on the edges too. Lets do this!

Apple Music player with Liquid Glass tab bar and controls over blurred, colorful artwork

Start with the bevel

Choose the rectangle shape tool

Rectangle Tool selected in the Photoshop toolbar shape tools menu

Choose Shape, no stroke and rounded corners. Here the corners are set to 121. It seems to give a nice rounded corner similar to what apple uses.

Shape options bar set to Shape, white fill, no stroke and 121 px corner radius

Drag on your document to create the shape. Tip: Hold down the Shift key to constrain to a perfect square.

White rounded square drawn on the photo with the Rectangle Tool

Apply a Bevel and emboss layer style.

Layer Styles menu over the Layers panel with Bevel & Emboss highlighted for the rectangle

Click on Blending Options

Reduce Fill opacity so you can see the effect.

Blending Options with Fill Opacity at 0%, the rounded square now just a faint outline

Click on Bevel and Emboss

I noticed that we can get a better result for this using the stroke emboss.

Change to Stroke emboss.

Bevel & Emboss Style changed to Stroke Emboss for the rectangle

You wont see anything. That’s because you need a stroke (outline).

Choose stroke and add a thin white stroke. I used 9 pixels. This will vary depending on the size and resolution of the image you are working with. My images is 4860px x 3240px

Stroke layer style with a thin white stroke set to Inside, outlining the rounded square

Click Bevel and emboss. Change the gloss contour to the double ring for the shiny effect.

Gloss Contour picker on the rectangle's Bevel & Emboss for a shiny glass edge

Choose color overlay and add a little white.

Color Overlay in white at low opacity on the rounded square for a frosted tint

We are similar to where we were with the type example, except I think the stroke emboss is giving a better result.

Blur behind the glass

There are many ways to do this next step. I am going to show you a flexible way that is non-destructive.

Press Ctrl/Cmd+J to copy the background layer

Drag the Background copy to the top of the layers panel

Layers panel with Background copy moved to the top, above the styled rectangle and text

Choose Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur

I used 19, and click ok

Gaussian Blur dialog with Radius 19 pixels blurring the background copy

Right now you will see just a blurred image and nothing else.

Lets make it fit to just the square.

Move your cursor to the line between the blurred image layer and the square shape on the next layer underneath it.

Hold down alt/Option and you should see an arrow.

Click

Layers panel with the line between Background copy and Rectangle 1 highlighted to make a clipping mask

You have now made a clipping group.

You will see an arrow on the top layer showing its clipped.

You will also probably notice the blurred layer isn’t showing now.

Blurred Background copy clipped to Rectangle 1, shown by the arrow in the Layers panel

Choose the Rectangle layer.

Notice the fill is at 0. This is the fill opacity that we turned all the way down, earlier.

Slide that slider to 100

Rectangle 1 selected in the Layers panel with Fill at 0% highlighted

Now you should see the blur appear inside the rectangle.

Because the blurred image is clipped above the shape, it will now show instead of the box color.

Why did we do it this way? Flexibility.

Choose the move tool and drag the box around. Notice it can go anywhere and whatever is beneath it is blurred. Very cool and flexible huh?

So, if we decide to scale the box or move it, we don’t have to redo the previous steps.

Blur now showing inside the glass square after raising the rectangle's Fill to 100%

Adding the edge Refraction

Ok, I think this next step is the best bit!

After this point, we won’t be working non destructively anymore. I can probably figure out a way to do that with Smart Objects, but not today, I have to get this tutorial finished!

Ctrl/Cmd+Click on the rectangle thumbnail in the layer panel. This will load the marching ants selection around the rectangle (the square).

Cmd or Ctrl-clicking the Rectangle 1 thumbnail to load its selection

Choose Select>Modify>Contract

Choose 30-40 pixels (you will have to experiment with different settings depending on the resolution of your image).

Click Ok

Contract Selection dialog with Contract By set to 30 pixels

Now we have selected a smaller rectangle shape inside the square.

Contracted marching-ants selection inside the frosted glass square

Press Ctrl/Cmd+Shift+I to inverse the selection.

This means we have a selection around the edge of the rectangle.

Feather Selection dialog with a 5 pixel radius, selection around the glass square

Click in the pixel layer above the rectangle (background copy), this is where we will apply the blur.

Choose Filter>Distort>ZigZag

Filter menu open to Distort with ZigZag highlighted

The main thing to change is the style, use Around Center.

ZigZag filter dialog with Style set to Around Center, Amount 61 and Ridges 5

Click ok and look at that magic!

Glass square after ZigZag, with refraction bending the blurred image along its edges

Adding a Hint of color (optional)

Some of the Apple Liquid Glass icons have a little color on the bottom or on the edges. Here’s how we do that.

Ctrl/Cmd+Click on the rectangle to load the selection

Choose the top layer and add a Gradient adjustment layer

Adjustment layer menu in the Layers panel with Gradient chosen, square selection active

For color choose the rainbow colored gradient. If you don’t see it, you need to load the legacy gradients, its covered on the video at the top.

Change the angle to 0 or 180. increase the scale to around 300.

Notice the purple/pink color we want isn’t showing.

Gradient Fill dialog with a rainbow gradient, Linear style, scale 295%, filling the square

With the Gradient Fill panel still open,

Drag on the gradient to cycle through the colors.

Click ok.

Glass square filled with a red, magenta and blue gradient after dragging to shift the colors

Now we need to blend the gradient into the edge of the shape

With the gradient layer selected, press Ctrl/Cmd+G to put it in a group.

We put it in a group so we can add a second mask. The layer mask is already used for the shape.

Gradient Fill layer placed inside Group 1 in the Layers panel

With the group selected, Press the add Layer Mask button in the layers panel.

Add Layer Mask button highlighted at the bottom of the Layers panel

This will add a mask.

Choose a black to white, linear Gradient.

Gradient tool with the black to white Basics gradient selected, Group 1 mask in the Layers panel

Drag on the shaoe to blend the color into the bottom edge.

Dragging a gradient on the mask so pink and purple fade in along the glass square's bottom edge

Optional: Repeat on the top to get something like this. Add you icons, text or whatever you like to the box.

Final Liquid Glass square with colored edges and blur over the photo of a woman at a laptop

That was fun! I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know

DOWNLOAD THE LAYER STYLE OF THIS HERE.  | GET MANY MORE ADD-ONS LIKE THIS HERE.  
To install it, choose Layer Styles hamburger menu on top right and choose import styles.

Great to see you here at the CAFE!

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Recommended for this tutorial

Photoshop Compositing: Sky City Project. Photoshop 2026

Build a complete composite from start to finish and learn the techniques behind it.

$39.99 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

8 comments

  1. Absolutely brilliant Colin! Thank you very much for all of this!

  2. James E. Fawcette

    Your liquid glass action unzipped to an .ASI extension, which is not recognized by Photoshop.
    Any chance of reposting?

  3. James E. Fawcette

    My mistake. I had “actions” on my brain from what I was working on. Spaced. This is a style, so asi works. Doh! My apologies. Thank you for responding anyway. Great piece.

  4. Susan Molnar

    Hi, Colin, thanks for this. Everything worked until I got to the point where you used the zig zag. First, Ps insisted I either rasterize or turn the layer into a smart object. I tried both. Maybe it’s because it’s several months later after Ps 2026 was released and updated, but this part of the instructions turned my square into a totally crazy shape with ziz-zags pulled out a long ways on all sides. I tried adjusting the sizes, but no help. Hoping you can suggest how to proceed to get that beautiful edge refraction!

    1. Colin Smith Author

      This will work the same in 2026. (It’s rare that there are workflow changes with existing tools).
      It looks like I left out a step. Before you apply the effect choose the pixel layer above the rectangle (background copy), this is where we will apply the blur.
      I also updated the written steps. I hope this helps!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link