Top 5 new features in Photoshop CC 2018

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

What’s new in Adobe Photoshop CC 2018?

Adobe has just announced a big update to Photoshop, this is Photoshop CC 2018. In this tutorial  I’m bringing you the top 5 new features in Photoshop CC 2018. I’ll also mention other top features at the end of this article. Stay tuned here at  photoshopCAFEfor more info on CC 2018 too.

Here are 5 of my favorite features in Photoshop CC 2018 for photographers:

Feature 1: Lightroom Photos

By clicking on LR Photos inside the welcome screen of Photoshop, your Lightroom photos will be synced with your Lightroom photos in the cloud.

Photoshop CC 2018 start screen with LR Photos marked by a red arrow

Lightroom Photos albums including drone, NYC, Motor sports and People in Photoshop

Now you can view your photos that you’ve got synced on Lightroom CC and access them right here within Photoshop. Any changes will also be updated to the cloud.

Motor sports album showing synced motocross photos in Photoshop

Feature 2: Range Mask in Camera Raw

Let’s open one of synced photos inside of Photoshop, inside of Camera raw.

Motocross rider jumping against a blue sky opened in Camera Raw

We want to make the motorcycle brighter, but at the same time, we want to make background darker.

Camera Raw Basic panel with Exposure raised to +1.35, circled

We can use Exposure to make the photo brighter or darker.

Once you’ve made the whole photo brighter, you now want to darken the background only.

Of course, you could use Adjustment Brush (quick select brush).

Adjustment Brush tool circled with the brush over the motocross rider

Here’s where a new feature comes into play.

View the mask and paint the quick selection over the whole area.

Sky and rider covered by the brush mask overlay in Camera Raw

You should now scroll down and turn on Auto Mask.

Auto Mask checkbox checked in Camera Raw

You will see some new options called Range Mask. Color and luminosity can now be used to get a much better selection than possible in the past. (This feature is in Adobe Camera Raw and Lightroom Classic. (See the end of this article for more on Lightroom “Classic”)

Under Range Mask choose Color.

Range Mask set to Color, circled, with the eyedropper

Grab the eyedropper

Range Mask eyedropper circled

 

Use the eyedropper to select the area on the background, this is the blue color we want to isolate (its blue under the mask)

Dragging a sample box over the sky with the Range Mask eyedropper

 

The Motorcycle area now becomes deselected.

Sky selected while the motocross rider is deselected

You can also adjust color range by tweaking it.

Color Range slider circled at 50 in the Range Mask settings

Turn off Mask.

Close-up of the Mask overlay checkbox and red color swatch

Turn exposure down.

Adjustment Brush Exposure lowered to -1.60

Now you can darken the sky without effecting the motorcycle, thanks to better masking.

Motocross rider jumping against a deeper blue sky after darkening

 

Feature 3: An improved select and Mask workspace

Here’s a photo to work with.

Woman with long curly hair and red lips on a beige background

Grab the quick select tool. Close-up of the Quick Selection tool icon

Make a selection around the model.

Quick selection around the curly-haired woman in Photoshop

Choose select and mask.

Select and Mask button circled in the options bar

Now you’ll be presented with this.

Select and Mask onion skin view of the woman over transparency

Inverse the selection by clicking Invert.

Decrease the transparency a little bit.

Select and Mask with Invert circled and the woman on transparency

lets take a peek at the selection edge. Select Show Edge.

Transparency lowered so the woman shows faintly in Select and Mask

Increase the radius until you see an outline.

Show Edge checked with the radius showing an outline around the hair

Turn off Show Edge.

Show Edge (J) checkbox circled in the View Mode settings

Grab the refine mask tool  Close-up of the Refine Edge Brush tool icon

 

Use this tool to go all around the hair on the model.

Refine Edge Brush selected, marked with a red arrow, over the curly hair

Check Decontaminate Colors.

Make sure that the “Output To” is set to New Layer with Layer Mask.

Decontaminate Colors checked and Output To New Layer with Layer Mask circled

Click OK.

Now you will be able to see that hard edges and hair look much better than with the previous version. In fact the Select and mask was pretty bad on the previous version, but now, I’m happy to say, it’s much better in CC2018!

Woman with curly hair cleanly cut out on a transparent background

Feature 4: Intelligent Scaling

 

We have the same picture in two separate documents.

Two copies of a winter fairy portrait with snowflakes side by side at 100 percent

First we’ll set both of them to 100%.

Winter fairy portraits zoomed to 100 percent in two windows

Select the left image and choose Image>Image Size

Image menu with Image Size highlighted over the winter fairy portrait

Scale up by 300%.

Under Resample we’ll use Preserve Details (enlargement).

Image Size at 300 percent with Resample set to Preserve Details (enlargement)

Preserve Details (enlargement) was actually the best that we had before with Photoshop resizing images.

Click OK to apply the settings to the left photo.

 

Select the photo on the right and choose Image>Image Size.

Scale up by 300%.

With this image, under Resample we’ll use Preserve Details 2.0. This new feature uses machine learning or deep learning or artificial intelligence to actually recompose a photo.

Image Size at 300 percent with Resample set to Preserve Details 2.0

Click OK to apply the settings for the right image.

 

Now both of our images are scaled up by 300%. With the left image we used Preserve Details (enlargement). With the right one we used all new Preserve Details 2.0.

Both enlarged images showing out-of-focus snowflakes up close

Select the left image.

Hold down the H key.

Click and drag.

Use  the Birdseye to get a close-up.

Navigator view of the winter fairy with angel wings in falling snow

Winter fairy's face enlarged in one window beside snowflakes in the other

We have to bring the right image to the same size so we can make a comparison.

Choose Window>Arrange>Match All

Window > Arrange menu with Match All highlighted

Now you have two images side by side and you can compare the details.

Maybe the biggest difference can be seen around the eyes with the right image having more distinct details.

Of course, the real difference can only be spotted when using higher magnification.

Close-up comparison of the winter fairy's eye makeup with both enlargement methods

Feature 5: Ability to work with 360 degree photos

Here is a photo taken by Russel Brown. This is shot with a Ricoh Theda on top of his DJI Phantom drone.

360 spherical panorama of a river canyon with drone legs visible at the top

We now have the ability to work on this inside  Photoshop

Let’s turn this into an actual panorama.

Go to 3D>Spherical Panorama>New Panorama Layer From Selected Layer(s)

3D menu with Spherical Panorama and New Panorama Layer From Selected Layer

We’ll now have an actual panorama that we can pan around and see everything.

Panorama view of the canyon and river from above

Panning up to see the drone and its legs against the blue sky

Panorama view of the canyon cliffs and dark river below  Panorama view of rocky ground and pine trees with a person and drone case  Looking down at the drone pilot in a red shirt on the rocks

Let’s take this drone out of the shot.

Drone body and legs visible straight up against the blue sky

First, set Field of View (FOV) to 1.

3D Camera Properties with FOV set to 1, circled

Grab a selection tool. Close-up of the Lasso tool icon

Make a selection around the drone.

Lasso selection around the drone in the blue sky

We will use Content-Aware fill.

Click Shift + Backspace or Shift + Delete for Mac

Fill dialog with Content-Aware and Color Adaptation checked, circled

Make sure Color Adaptation and Content-Aware are selected.

Click OK.

 

The drone is gone.

Blue sky after Content-Aware Fill removed most of the drone

We still need to get the remaining parts of a drone removed.

Move to the remaining part.

Grab the lasso tool .Close-up of the Lasso tool icon again

Make a selection around the remaining part.

Lasso selection around a leftover drone edge in the sky

We will once again use Content-Aware fill.

Click Shift + Backspace or Shift + Delete for Mac

Fill dialog with Content-Aware chosen again

Make sure Color Adaptation and Content-Aware are selected.

Click OK.

 

The drone is completely removed.

Clean blue sky with the drone completely removed from the panorama

Now that the drone is removed, people can move around all over the photo and enjoy the panorama without a drone above their heads.

It can also be exported under Go to 3D>Spherical Panorama>Export panorama

This panorama can be imported into Facebook and displays as a VR 360.

Watch this video to see the whole process

Making 360 panorama VR images in Photoshop CC 2018

Other features of mention in Photoshop CC 2018.

There are a lot of other new features and I will be covering them soon.

Of note

  • Drawing: Symmetry tool that enables you to draw mirrored in several ways.
  • (One of my favs) Adjustable path outline, make it thicker and change the color, so you can see it while working with the pen tool.
  • The ability to copy and paste layers with their attributes.
  • Curvature tool in pen tool: a more natural way of drawing curves.

  • Brush Presets, now retaining color and other properties from tool presets

  • brush smoothing, smoothens out the jitters while drawing freehand 🙂

  • variable font, adjust all the properties of a font on the fly, this was in the sneaks at Adobe MAX last year.

  • more, stay tuned!

 

Big changes to Lightroom!

The Lightroom we all know has been renamed to Lightroom Classic. Don’t worry, it’s not going away. In fact it has major speed boosts in this release as well as The range masking feature.

What about Lightroom CC? Lightroom CC is now a suite of products to support a cloud based mobile workflow. There are the mobile apps on the phones and tablets that you are familiar with already. Now a new desktop app has been added to the suite. This dektop app syncs with the the mobile apps and stores all the photos in the cloud. (It can still store them on the desktop too). What this means for you is your photos anywhere, including in Photoshop as you saw with the first feature. Ill give you more info about Lightroom CC soon!

 

Don’t forget to check out the other tutorials I have, a little bit more in-depth on the new features here, inside of Photoshop CC 2018.

If you like Photoshop and Lightroom tutorials, make sure you subscribe to our newsletter and then you will never miss any one of my tutorials.

Let’s get a discussion going, add a comment. What’s your favorite feature, are you excited about CC 2018, do you love Photoshop? If you do, let me know, if you hate it, let me know!

Until next time, I’ll see you at the Cafe.


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

6 comments

  1. Patricia Stanley

    I have a problem with warping. I used to be able to warp items e.g. text, pictures, etc easily in about 2 steps, now it’s a big deal about 10 steps or so with the perspective warp. I’ve gone through tutorials and that hasn’t helped. I’m disappointed in some of the changes because it’s added more steps. I’m a novice user and have to learn things on the fly. I like the old versions.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      The warp feature is still there, you don’t have to use perspective warp

  2. tomas eyzaguirre

    what can you do when the sky leaves those kind of waves/lines when the gradient color its too hard? like in the photo of the bike and the drone?

    1. Colin Smith Author

      I think you are referring to prop shadow, make sure you don’t have sun directly behind you when you shoot

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link