How to make a sunset or sunrise in Photoshop with lighting effects

Colin Smith

How to make golden hour lighting in Photoshop to make your photos come to life

In this tutorial we are going to make a beautiful golden hour, like you would see at sunrise or sunset.

Subscribe on YouTube:

You can apply this technique to any photo. You can use an overcast day, to add a sunrise or sunset, or you can use a photos where the sunrise didn’t quite hit and really make it shine. We will use 2 examples here.

Let’s start with this aerial I shot in Cape May NJ.

Make sure you image is an 8-Bit RGB image under Image>Mode

Dark aerial photo of a harbor and marina at dusk under a cloudy sky

1.

Right click on the name in the Layers panel and choose, Convert to Smart Object. This gives Flexibility  by making the filter a Smart Filter.

Convert to Smart Object chosen from the layer right-click menu

I made the smart object on a copy of the background, this is entirely optional.

Background copy as a smart object in the Layers panel

2.

Unfortunately, the Lighting effects filter has recently been retired. This tutorial shows how to get lighting effects with new Gradient features. 

Choose Filter>Render>Lighting Effects

Under presets, choose 2 O’Clock Spotlight

Lighting Effects presets menu with 2 O'clock Spotlight checked

3.

Position the hotspot over the sun. If the sun isn’t visible in the image, place the hotsport where the sun would be. Drag on the 4 points to change the size and shape of the lighting oval. Drag inside the oval to move and outside the oval to rotate.

(I cover this in more depth in the video and the previous few tutorials if you need more basic instruction).

Spotlight ellipse positioned over the setting sun on the harbor photo

These are my preliminary settings. Pay special attention to the Hotspot slider.

Lighting Effects Spot settings with Intensity 17, Hotspot -64 and Ambience 20

4.

In the Lighting effects, there are 2 areas. The top set of adjustments are for the hotspot, or the light itself.

The bottom set of adjustments is for the ambient, or overall lighting outside the oval.

Color, Intensity and Hotspot outlined in the Lighting Effects properties  Colorize, Gloss, Metallic and Ambience outlined in Lighting Effects

There are 2 color swatches, the top one changes the color of the lit area (Light color), the bottom one changes the rest of the color on the image .

Light Color and Colorize swatches outlined in Lighting Effects

5.

Click on the bottom color picker (colorize) to change the ambient light.

Choose a warm orange color and increase the Intensity to 1.27

Click ok

Ambient color picker set to a warm golden yellow

You will see how we are starting to see a nice golden color of the image.

Harbor turned golden by the ambient color in Lighting Effects

6.

Click on the top color picker, the color one.

We want a nice golden color of the light source,

Light color picker set to a pale golden tone

If you move your curser over the photo, it will change to an eyedropper. Click to sample a nice golden yellow color.

Eyedropper sampling color from the glowing sky around the sun

7.

Adjust the settings so there is a nice balance between the light and a nice ambient glow.

Here are the settings I used.

Final Lighting Effects settings with Intensity 28, Gloss 86 and Ambience 61

and the result, a realistic looking golden early morning glow.

Harbor at a golden early-morning sunrise with light reflecting on the water

8.

Let’s look at another example, I have something different to show you on this one. Right click on the name and choose Convert To Smart Object. (You will see why soon). 

Marina with boats at dusk under a pink and blue sky, the second example

9.

Choose Filter>Render>Lighting Effects

The previous settings will appear (its a sticky setting)

Position the hotspot over the sun.

Spotlight hotspot placed over the sun above the marina

If you like, you can change the settings, like we did in the previous example. I turned up the ambience slider just a little bit, everything else is identical to the last settings.

Marina glowing gold with the sun low over the water

10.

Now we are going to occlude some of the color in the areas that aren’t facing the sun.

What that means, is we will turn down the golden color in some areas, but not completely remove it.

When you look at the Smart Filter, you will see a white box. This is a mask, click on it. (This is why we made a smart object at the beginning).

If we paint with black, we can paint away the filter.

Lighting Effects listed as a Smart Filter with its white mask in the Layers panel

11.

Choose a soft edged brush (B key)

Select 50% Gray as the foreground color.

With the Filter Mask selected (the white rectangle) paint over the areas of the photo that should get less orange color. It’s subtle, but it will give you an extra layer of realism.

Brush painting away the golden filter on a boat at the marina

 

Marina with the filter painted back from parts of the dock and boats

12.

Now we are going to make the highlights pop. This will add some nice definition to the photo.

We are going to Dodge the rim lighting… you will see what I mean.

Create a new Layer and make sure it’s on top.

Change the blending mode to Overlay by clicking and changing “Normal”

New Layer 1 in Overlay mode above the Lighting Effects smart object

13.

With a soft brush selected, change the foreground to a slight yellowish off white.

Lower brush opacity to 30%.

Color Picker set to a pale cream for painting light

14.

Paint on the edges that are catching the light, This will enhance the highlights and really make it pop. Because we have turned up the sun, we also need to turn up those highlight areas.

For me, this is an enjoyable step. It can take a little time, but you are now creating a unique piece of art.

Soft light painted on the boats to catch the sunrise

And the result, See the nice sunrise and notice the forward facing edges of the boats on the left. See how the dodging made it pop. See more on Dodge and Burn here. 

Final marina at sunrise with golden reflections and painted highlights

I hope you found this tutorial helpful.

 

This is part 5 of a series I’m making on Lighting effects, where we do something different with the lighting on a photo in each one. This series will really make your photos come to life.

If you enjoyed this please share it on social media

 

Great to see you here at the CAFE

Colin

Check out part 1 here for the basics and using a color channel for texture.

Before and after of a wooden wine barrel relit in Photoshop, part 1

Part 2 is lighting a portrait

See it here

Before and after of a woman in a knit beanie, part 2 portrait lighting

Part 3 is embossing a logo

See it here

Before and after of a PhotoshopCAFE logo embossed into a textured surface, part 3

Part 4 is adding a beam of sunlight to a Landscape photo.

See it here

Before and after of a forest seedling with a beam of sunlight, part 4

Browse our hundreds of other free tutorials here, or search for what you are looking for in the search at the top of the page.

Great to see you here at the CAFE,

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

13 comments

  1. Jim Correia

    This was a very cool tutorial. I’m already thinking of some images in my library where this technique can really help the colors come out better. Thank you for this.

  2. Deb Snelson

    Great stuff! Keep them coming, I am learning more and more from your tutorials! Thank you!

  3. Gary McJimsey

    I have enjoyed your tutorials on Lighting. Appreciated

  4. Graham D'Aucourt

    Very interesting, thanks. I’m sure I can make use it.

  5. Julie Boyle

    Thanks Colin. I have had trouble with the light filter but feel I understand it much better now.

  6. Jennifer

    This was awesome, Colin. It is something I always wanted to learn how to do. I’m still waiting for a tutorial from you about how to make hair look wet in Photoshop. If I’ve missed it please link me, thanks.

  7. Jennifer

    I have a question, Colin. If you want to adjust the sky like this but you have 2 figures on a balcony looking out at it, they are affected also. i tried to select them to keep them out of it but that doesn’t work it just leaves odd spots around the figures themself because you can’t get the exact outline of them always. How can you do the effect without affecting the figures. Do you use the black and brush them out or what? Thank you.

  8. Don MacGregor

    I enjoy the focussed tutorial concept. I have been using PS since ver 2 and everyday I learn something new.

  9. Norman Share

    Enjoy and learn from all your tutorials.
    In the current one, converting to Smart Object, could you explain why you have to work in 8 bit rather than 16 bit?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link