How to make good night shadows in Photoshop. Light a product in Photoshop

Colin Smith

Lighting a product in Photoshop and adding realistic gobo shadows

 

Subscribe on YouTube:

Turning a picture of a book into a night scene with spotlight and light shadows (Gobo in Photoshop).

In this Photoshop tutorial, we are going to do a few things, but the big one is adding gobo shadows. I haven’t seen anyone else do this in Photoshop, although it is used by 3D artists more often. Gobo is a tern used in film and photography for a stencil that is placed in front of a light to imitate shadows made by things like leaves, window frames and other objects than come between the light source and the subject. Making these digital gobos adds a whole level of realism.

(By the way, I have been asked by some teachers, if it’s ok to show these videos in a classroom, YES, by all means. Please mention PhotoshopCAFE).

We will start with this photo of a book I grabbed from Adobe Stock and add text, lighting and finally the gobo.

Blank open book on a dark wooden table, the Adobe Stock starting photo Finished book with script text lit by a warm spotlight with a gobo shadow on dark wood

Step 1. Adding the text to the book

If you want to add text to the book, follow these steps. The same steps apply to adding photos or other things to the book. If you aren’t adding anything to the book pages, skip to step 9. 

Choose the text tool

Drag to create a text block. If you are in Photoshop 2020 or newer, the placeholder text will be added, Otherwise choose Type>Past Lorem Ipsem, or type in your own words.

Placeholder Lorem ipsum text block dragged out with the Type tool over the open book in Photoshop

2. Format the text to suit your tastes.

Photoshop Character panel set to Apple Chancery at 42.71 pt with a dark red color

 

Lorem ipsum text in dark red Apple Chancery script over the open book on wood

3. Duplicate the text block, for the facing page, by choosing the move tool. Hold down Alt/Option as you drag to make a copy.

Change the text on the copy if you want.

Text block duplicated for the facing page of the book, with both type layers in the Layers panel

4. You will now need to convert the text to pixels.

In the Layers Panel, right-click on the text and choose Rasterize layer.

Do this for each of the text blocks.

Press Ctrl/Cmd+T for free transform

Scale and rotate the text block to fit the page

Free Transform scaling and rotating the script text block to fit the left page

5. Don’t apply the transformation yet.

Right Click on the text and choose Distort

Drag each corner into position

Dragging a corner of the text block into place on the book page in Free Transform

 

Text block rotated 13.7 degrees in Free Transform to match the angle of the right page

6. Right-Click (Still in Free Transform) and choose Warp.

Warp chosen from the right-click Free Transform menu over the script text

7. Drag on the block to warp it to fit the page (All of this is in detail in the video at the top in case you get confused).

Warp grid bending the script text to follow the curve of the book page

 

Script text warped to fit the left page of the book with the warp grid still showing

8. When you have finished designing your pages, let’s make it all into one layer.

Press Ctrl+Shift+Alt+E on Windows. Cmd+Shift+Option+E on Mac. This makes a merged layer on top.

Shortcut Ctrl+Shift+Alt+E or Cmd+Shift+Option+E to make a merged layer of the book

Step 9. Adding the lighting effect.

Unfortunately, the Lighting effects filter has recently been retired (I’m lobbying Adobe to bring it back). This tutorial shows how to get lighting effects with new Gradient features. 

Chose Filter>Render>Lighting effects (If its greyed out, make sure you are in RGB mode and 8-bit color You will find this under Image>Mode)

Choose Soft Spotlight in the presets.

Lighting Effects Soft Spotlight preset over the book, with the light ellipse shown

10. Change the settings on the light to match what you see here as far as size, position and hotspot.

Spotlight size, position and hotspot adjusted in Lighting Effects on the book

11. We want to set the color for the scene. If we want a night look, we need a blur hue.

Click the colorize box

Choose a bluish color and click ok.

Color Picker for the Lighting Effects ambient color, set to a bluish tone

12. The scene is now blue, but we want the light to be a warm color.

Click Color.

Choose a yellowish color.

Click ok.

Color Picker for the Lighting Effects light color, set to a warm pale yellow

13. Fine tune your settings to get a nice look. (I discuss this in the video as well as on other lighting effects tutorials)

Here are the exact settings I used.

Lighting Effects spot settings: intensity 65, hotspot 37, exposure -30, metallic 75, ambience 33

 

Book lit by a warm spotlight on a dark blue scene in Lighting Effects

14. (Optional)

We can make the works look stamped or embossed if we want.

Under texture, choose the red channel

Set height to 1.

It looks stamped.

Lighting Effects texture set to Red with height 1, making the text look stamped into the page

15.If you prefer embossed, change the height to -1

Lighting Effects height set to -1 so the text looks embossed instead of stamped

16. This is the book so far. Now we are going to add the gobo effect.

Book lit by a warm spotlight with embossed script text, before adding the gobo shadow

17. Create a new Layer, Call it shad. (Its a good idea to name layers, but shorthand names are fine if you know what they mean).

New empty layer named shad at the top of the Photoshop Layers panel

18. Choose the custom shape tool in the toolbox, Its hiding under the line tool.

Custom Shape Tool hidden under the Line Tool in the Photoshop toolbar

19. Go under shape in the top tool bar.

Choose the leaf.

If you don’t see the leaf, choose Window>Shapes. Click on the top right of the Shapes panel and choose Legacy shapes and more from the drop down menu. It will load in more shapes including the leaf.

Legacy shapes in Photoshop with the leaf branch shape chosen, and a note to use Window, Shapes

20. In the top left you will see a drop down with 3 options. Shape Layer, Paths and Pixels. Choose Pixels.

With black as the foreground color, drag out a leaf on the canvas.

Black leaf branch shape dragged out over the lit book with the custom shape tool

21. Add a few more to get a nice coverage.

Several black leaf branches covering the book, ready to become a gobo shadow

22. This is where the magic happens.

Choose Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur

Adjust it until the edges are soft. This should be starting to look pretty realistic by now.

Gaussian Blur softening the leaf shapes into a realistic gobo shadow across the book

23. Try changing the opacity if the effect is too strong.

Leaf shadow layer opacity lowered so the gobo shadow on the book is more subtle

24. (optional)

Choose Create new Adjustment Layer from the bottom layers menu and choose Curves.

Add a point in the 3/4 brightness and move it up to brighten the image and make the shadow pop if you like.

Curves adjustment brightening the book so the leafy gobo shadow pops

And there we go!

That was an involved one this week! I hope you enjoyed the Photoshop tutorial as much as I did making it.

If you liked it, tell all your friends and join our mailing list. Don’t forget to follow us on Social Media and subscribe to our youtube channel.

Great to have you here at the CAFE and see you next week!

Colin

This is part 5 of a series I’m making on Lighting effects, where we do something different with the lighting on a photo in each one. This series will really make your photos come to life.

If you enjoyed this please share it on social media

Great to see you here at the CAFE

Colin

Check out part 1 here for the basics and using a color channel for texture.

Before and after of a wooden barrel relit with Lighting Effects in Photoshop, part 1

Part 2 is lighting a portrait

See it here

Before and after portrait of a woman in a knit hat relit in Photoshop, part 2

Part 3 is embossing a logo

See it here

Before and after of the PhotoshopCAFE logo and social icons embossed in Photoshop, part 3

Part 4 is adding a beam of sunlight to a Landscape photo.

See it here

Forest sapling photo with a beam of sunlight added in Photoshop, part 4

Part 5 is making a Sunset.

see it here

Before and after of a marina at sunset with a golden sky added in Photoshop, part 5

Browse our hundreds of other free tutorials here, or search for what you are looking for in the search at the top of the page.

Great to see you here at the CAFE,

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

5 comments

  1. Jo Bolton

    This was SOOOO helpful. I am always looking for lighting techniques in PS and you’re correct, I’ve never seen this one before.

  2. Henry Jansen

    Hi Colin, that’s another great tutorial about the lighting effect in PhotoShop. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Nancy Michael

    Wonderful I usually find most instructors go so fast you can’t digest the information. But this was the perfect speed. I feel like I could actually do this one. Thank you so much. Iam subscribed.

  4. alan green

    That was terrific. I really like the step by step along with your calm and collected voice.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link