How to Light a Photo in Photoshop with Lighting Effects

Colin Smith

How to Light a photo in Photoshop

Get ready to relight your photos in Photoshop. I’m amazed at how many people tell me they have never heard of the really powerful LIGHTING EFFECTS filter.

Subscribe on YouTube:

In this Photoshop Tutorial we are going to use the Lighting effects filter to simulate real lighting. This filter has a lot of powerful features. I’ll show you how to use them in this tutorial. We are going to d 2 projects. The first is adding colored gels in Photoshop and the second is relighting a scene and adding texture. This is also part 1 of a 3 parter on the Lighting effects filter, look for the other 2 parts here on PhotoshopCAFE. Please watch the video for more detailed explanations and extra tips. This written component will serve as a great reference for you.

Now that Lighting effects is retired in Photoshop (if you have the earlier version of Photoshop you can still do this) you can create a similar effect 2 ways:

To make the 3D and other retired features work in Photoshop, do this

Before: two dancers in blue and gold throwing white powder against a black background After: the powder lit blue on the left and warm orange on the right with Lighting Effects

Before: wooden wine barrels in an evenly lit cellar After: the wine barrels lit with a dramatic soft spotlight and darker surroundings

This is part 1 of a series. Part 2 is here.

Lighting effects isn’t working?

I have received a lot of messages about different things not working, here are the common solutions.

  • Make sure you are in RGB mode and 8bit color. (under Image>Mode)
  • If you don’t see the controls, press Cmd/Ctrl+H
  • If its not working try going to Preference>Performance and make sure Use Graphics Processor is turned on.
  • Sometimes you have to quite Photoshop and go back in when changing texture channels, as it has a few little bugs.

Making Colored Gels in Photoshop

Here is a photo I grabbed from Adobe Stock. Lets start with a double gelled spotlight effect

Two dancers with a cloud of white powder on black, the starting Adobe Stock photo

Step 1.

Choose Filter>Render>Lighting effects
(note, you need to be in RGB mode and 8 bit for this to work, you can find this under Image>Mode)

There are 3 types of lights available

This is spot which is a spotlight / floodlight

Spot light selected in the Lighting Effects filter, shown as an oval over the image

Second light is a point light. This is a like a lightbulb in space.

Point light in Lighting Effects glowing between the two dancers

Third is an infinite. This is a directional light, like the sun.

Infinite light in Lighting Effects lighting the whole scene like the sun

Step 2

Under the presets at the top, choose a Triple Spotlight. These presets are quick ways to get started and some of them are quite cool looking.

Lighting Effects presets menu with Triple Spotlight chosen

You’ll see this

Three spotlight ovals from the Triple Spotlight preset over the dancers

Step 3

Zoom out but using the zoom settings in the bottom corner, or Alt+scroll wheel on your mouse.

You can drag on the points to change the size brightness and angle of the light.

Adjust the hotspot for a softer falloff.

Spotlight oval on the left powder cloud with a softer hotspot

Step 4

Click on color to add some color to the light.

Drag inside the square swatch to choose the color. It works just the the color picker in Photoshop.

Light color swatch set to blue in the Lighting Effects color picker

Step 5

Adjust the intensity to choose the brightness of the light

Blue spotlight intensity raised on the left powder cloud

Step 6

You can brighten the rest of the photo with the ambience slider. This adjusts the overall brightness of the entire image.

Ambience slider raised to brighten the rest of the dancers photo

Step 7

Choose a different light to adjust. You can select by clicking the light in the Lights panel.

Second spotlight selected in the Lights panel, outlined in red

Step 8

Let’s choose a complimentary color. A nice orange this time.

Second spotlight set to orange on the right powder cloud

Step 9

For the 3rd light, you can hide it by clicking the eye icon next to it in the lights panel, or select it and press the trash icon to remove it.

In this case, let’s keep it but lower the intensity so we can still see some of the chalk in the middle of the image. (the smoke effect is made by throwing chalk).

Third spotlight in the middle lowered in intensity to keep some white powder

And the result looks like we lit the sides with colored lights, or colored gels on spotlights. Let’s continue..

Dancers with the powder lit blue and orange, like colored gels on spotlights

Lighting a photo with a spotlight and realistic texture in Photoshop

Let’s step it up a bit more with another photo from Adobe Stock. We will add a dramatic spotlight.

Wooden wine barrels in a cellar, the photo for the dramatic spotlight

Step 1

Unfortunately, the Lighting effects filter has recently been retired. If you aren’t able to run an earlier version of Photoshop,  This tutorial shows how to get lighting effects with new Gradient features.  The rest of the tutorial works fine, just substitute radial gradient for lighting effects.

Choose Filter>render>Lighting effects

This time choose Soft spotlight from the presets.

Soft Spotlight preset chosen in Lighting Effects over the barrel photo

Step 2

Resize the position the light so send the beam down from the left side.

Spotlight beam angled down from the upper left onto the main barrel

Here are the settings Im using

Lighting Effects spotlight settings over the darkened barrel scene

Step 3

Increase the ambience until you can just see the background, but its still dark enough that the spotlight has a strong effect.

(This is a great trick to simplify a busy image and provide a nice area to add text for designers.)

Ambience raised so the background barrels are dim but visible

Step 4

Now for some magic.

Under texture, choose red. We are now loading the red channel into the lighting effects (We will do WAY more with textures in upcoming tutorials on this, very soon).

Set it to the lowest value of 1.

Look at how it popped the texture on the barrel. This is more realistic because when you side light something (called raking light) it casts tiny shadows and pops texture.

Texture set to Red with Height raised to bring out the barrel wood grain

And the result.

Wine barrels lit with a dramatic side spotlight and realistic wood texture

Please come back soon I am adding 2 more parts:

Lighting a portrait is here

Before and after portrait of a woman in a knit beanie, part 2 portrait lighting in Photoshop

as well as how to do crazy realistic and 3D looking textures with this filter.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Please tell all your friends about PhotoshopCAFE.

Browse our hundreds of other free tutorials here, or search for what you are looking for in the search at the top of the page.

Great to see you here at the CAFE,

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

40 comments

  1. Geoff Musseau

    WOW been using photoshop for awhile and I think this is one of the best tool ever , Thank you so much for sharing

  2. Ron Eccles

    Is this only for 2020 as my Photoshop CC does not have anywhere I can adjust the beam. All the adjustments are down the side for ambience etc but I cannot adjust the direction, the beam is static.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Didi you want the video? it goes into much more depth, make sure you have the right kid of light such as spotlight

  3. Alexander

    Hi Colin

    One of the things that I find so frustrating about PS and trying to learn it from tutorials like yours is that I can follow the exact same steps as an instructor and not even get the same screens that they do.

    In this cas I have the latest PS CC and when I go to render and spotlight effects I merely get a spotlight with none of the rings or dials that enable me to position or otherwise modify it.

    If you can tell me why that might be I would certainly appreciate it

    Cheers

    Alexander.

  4. This is one of your BEST tutorials ! Why? Because you spoke at a slower pace; AND you took time to point out the
    “Buttons”…”filter…render…lighting filter . Much better pace for us retirees who sometime struggle to follow along.
    Thank you. Colin

  5. Tom Kostes

    Great tutorial, though experienced in Photoshop, this was new to me, so thanks, and yes I would be interested in knowing more on this subject.

  6. Eloise Lane

    Great tutorial. I’m now re-excited about using the Lighting effects!

  7. charlie

    This is so helpful to boost a photo. I am able to give a photo more dimensionality.

  8. Alan J. Gould

    Very helpful and well expressed. Can I get the written instructions w/o the photos?
    Thanks.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Copy and paste into a plain text editor, it will strip out the images 😉

  9. Meg Ruwe

    I am an amateur photographer and use PS almost every day. Colin, I enjoy all your tutorials. Tuesday is my favorite day of the week (And now Thursdays too). This “Lighting Effects” tutorial is one of my favorites and I am very anxious to give it a try. However, I can’t access the Lighting Effects filter. I have tried Image>Mode RGB Color and 8 Bit. I have also looked at Edit>Color Settings and Edit>Convert to Profile. These last 2 are very confusing to me and I don’t know if I should be messing with them. (I updated PS 2 days ago)
    Any suggestions or am I just out of luck ? Thanks for your time.

  10. Gary McJimsey

    This was great Colin. Really enjoy your PS tips and instructions

  11. Richard Moore

    Am using an image with RGB in 8 bit mode but cannot access this filter. Please advise.

  12. I had totally forgotten about this effect! I have CS6 Master and a few years ago I used the effect for dramatizing some UI designs I did. Your demo is much more sophisticated than what I did and opens up new possibilities for me. Thanks again for another great tutorial!

  13. Stephan Banakas

    Can’t find the handles for this effect. It appears that many other can’t find them either. Can you help with this? I too am using RGB in 8 bit mode.

  14. Christian Bille

    Always looking forward to your news – not sure I can obtain and remember all the knowledge from you – unfortunately – but in small steps I get more and more knowledgeable about Photoshop – and as that is my main goal – I am still progressing – only using Photoshop for fun – and by your help is still fun!!!

  15. Stuart Mitchell

    Great tutorial. First time I became aware of this filter. I love the way you provide a written tutorial with your video. Don’t need to madly scribble down notes while watching the video like I do with others. Great work.

  16. Julie Boyle

    Love this tutorial Colin. I have not had much success with this tool in the past but I see there has been some improvements made so I am interested in any other tutorials you might make on this subject. Thank you for sharing.

  17. Joel Schilling

    Thanks for this tutorial Colin. I haven’t used this filter in years, I’m not sure why, I just forgot that it existed!

  18. mike yates

    well Colin, this is the first time I have seen this lighting affects. and I was impressed and I going to give it a quick try out . so I can use in the future .thanks for a good well explained tutorial

  19. Stephen M Robinson

    Great tutorial on a filter that I did not know about. You are the man.

  20. Mona Friel

    Great tutorial. I have Photoshop 2020, however in the Lighting Filter I do not have the Lights Panel where I was hoping to delete the different lighting effects.
    Please advise

    1. Colin Smith Author

      have received a lot of messages about different things not working, here are the common solutions.

      have also added this to the article…
      Make sure you are in RGB mode and 8bit color. (under Image>Mode)
      If you don’t see the controls, press Cmd/Ctrl+H
      If its not working try going to Preference>Performance and make sure Use Graphics Processor is turned on.
      Sometimes you have to quite Photoshop and go back in when changing texture channels, as it has a few little bugs.

  21. duongtruc truc

    i’m do everything you said: RGB mode and 8bit color., Preference>Performance and make sure Use Graphics Processor is turned on. but after apply theLightning filter it’s a result, when i save it’s all Black. Help me, please. I’m using Photoshop Cc 2019

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Make sure the light is turned on in the lights panel. Is there a reason you aren’t using PS 2020? Sounds like compatibility issues with your graphics card, all I can suggest at this point is to update your graphics driver.

  22. Michael Seely

    Hi Colen, even after the control H, and preferences on button i still do not get the handles where i can adjust so can’t make it to 1st base with this tutorial..Thanks for trying

    1. Colin Smith Author

      The latest tutorial starts with all the things that you should try if it doesn’t work

  23. abdullah alahmed

    Where we can get these lighting effects filter?

  24. Suzanne Bauer

    Never knew about the Lighting Effect filter. Great tool! See? I learned again!! Thanks!

  25. Great tutorial; never knew this stuff was in Photoshop and will definitely use it…

  26. This tutorial is great! I needed a reminder on how to add lighting effect for client work, but as I watched this video and tried to do it on my own photo, I was brought back to the real world (quite brutally!). Photoshop has stopped supporting 3d tools, including lighting effects! I am now wondering: is there a substitution tool? Or some trick that can do almost the same effect? The Adobe help website is of no use, as they are hinting at other software… Thanks so much in advance!

    1. Colin Smith Author

      You can still run an older version of Photoshop at the same time, I made a tutorial on how to kee the 3D tools working in Photoshop on the site somewhere, you can find it in the search

  27. This video/tutorial is no longer relevant with current versions of Photoshop. As the last commenter stated, 3D tools are no longer supported and thus there are no longer transform functionality to adjust the size and position of the lighting effects. I too wonder what the current way is to achieve the same effects.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      See my other tutorial on Making the 3D features work in Photoshop, it might even be linked from this tut

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link