How to easily add Bleeds and Crop marks in Photoshop for print

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

The easiest way to add bleeds to artwork in Photoshop, has changed. This tutorial shows you the fastest and best method using the latest tools in Photoshop.

Here is the challenge: You created or acquired some artwork that you want to send off to the printshop, but there is no bleed area set up. If you were to have it printed “as-is”, when the printer trims the final piece, there will be white slivers showing around all the edges, because the printed area is right up to the edge of the trim. Especially if we get slippage on the press, those white borders can become very noticeable. (Printers already know this and will usually reject the artwork or charge you an extra fee to fix it).

It’s standard to add an extra 1/8″ inch (3mm) to the edges, the trim happens inside the artwork and thus no white edges. This extra space is called a “bleed”. An experienced designer will already know this and create the document with this “trim safe” area built in. You could just enlarge your artwork, but then you might be trimming off important information on the edges, or just messing up the balance of the design.

The best solution is to extend the size of the document and add more artwork to the edges. There are many ways we have done this in the past, from painting color, using pixel stretch techniques or other methods. These days, this is the perfect job for Generative ai. Because it’s on the trim area, resolution isn’t important, we just need matching colors. 

The crop marks are the overlays that show us where to cut. There is no bleed or crop mark features built directly into Photoshop. Yes, a PDF can create crop marks for us, but what if it’s a one-off printed directly from Photoshop and you are manually using a guillotine (paper cutter) to trim the page.

Here are the simple steps to do this yourself. 

Making a Bleed in Photoshop

Say we have a design that doesn’t have a bleed area built in (There have been many reasons for this in my decades of experience). We need to add a 1/8th inch (3mm) bleed.

Create Without Limits event poster open in Photoshop, labeled 1/8th inch bleed USA, 3mm rest of world

This bleed will need to go on the outside of our doc. This means we will have to make the document dimensions larger.

The poster with a red outline marking where the bleed will be added around the edges

The first thing we need to do is add guides to mark the live are of our artwork. 

Fortunately, Photoshop has made it so much easier to add guides than in past days. 

View>Guides>New Guide Layout

Set it to 1 column and 1 row. leave everything else blank, no gutter or margin.

Turn on Clear Existing Guides, so that only the new guides will show. 

New Guide Layout dialog set to 1 column and 1 row with Clear Existing Guides checked

And you can see the guides around the edges. Press OK.

Cyan guides now running around the edges of the poster

Changing the canvas size for the bleed

We should be working on a flattened version of the art at this point. If you need to choose save as, save the layered work separately, we will work on a flat doc. (Right-Click on a layer in the layers panel and choose Flatten Image.)

We now need to make the document larger on each side.

(optional) Easy way to change the unit of measurement: Press Ctrl/Cmd+R to show the rulers. Right click on the ruler and choose Inches, mm or whatever measurement you want to work with. 

Ruler right-click menu with Inches selected as the unit of measurement

Image>Canvas Size

Choose the Relative button. We don’t want to calculate the entire size, just add what we need.

Now, we want to make the canvas larger and add 1/8″ or 3mm to each edge.

Because we need to add the extra to both sides, (and top and bottom) double the number. That would be 1/4″ inch which is .25. 6mm if you are outside the US. 

Click ok

Canvas Size dialog adding 0.25 inches to width and height, Relative checked

Now we have a transparent area running all the way around. 

We need to fill it with something. The lazy way is to press Ctrl/Cmd+T and stretch the artwork. We will use a better way. 

Poster with a transparent strip now around all four edges after enlarging the canvas

Hold down the Ctrl (windows) / Cmd (Mac) key and click on the thumbnail in the layers panel.

The pixels will all be selected and you will see the marching ants around the edges. 

Cmd or Ctrl-clicking the Layer 0 thumbnail to load the artwork as a selection

Because the selection is right on the edge, we need to slightly contract the selection, so there is no seam. 

Marching ants at the very edge of the artwork, next to the transparent bleed

On the Menu choose Select>Modify Selection>Contract. 

Or choose it from the taskbar as shown.

Contextual Task Bar selection menu with Contract Selection highlighted

Enter 2 pixels and click ok. 

Contract Selection dialog set to 2 pixels

Too how we don’t have a gap anymore. 

Close-up of the selection pulled 2 pixels inside the artwork edge

Select>Inverse or choose it from the taskbar.

Invert selection button highlighted in the Contextual Task Bar

Now we have a selection around the edges that starts 2 pixels within the art. 

Inverted selection covering the bleed border around the poster

In the taskbar, Click on Generative Fill

Choose Adobe Firefly Fill and Expand for the ai model. Ai Model Cheat Sheet here. 

Generative Fill model picker with Firefly Fill & Expand selected

Click Generate

Generate button highlighted in the Generative Fill prompt bar with no prompt

Now we have a perfect bleed generated. This is one of the most practical uses of Generative ai out there.

If you don’t require crop marks, you are done! I made this into a free action you can download, see more info at the bottom of this page.  

If you want crop marks, read on. 

Poster with the bleed area filled seamlessly by Generative Fill

Adding Crop Marks in Photoshop

Create a new layer, name it crop.

New empty layer named crop above the poster layers in the Layers panel

Choose the line tool and select a color that will be easy to see against your artwork, usually black or white.

Shape tools menu with the Line Tool highlighted

In the tool option bar at the top, choose Pixels. 

Line tool mode set to Pixels in the options bar

I like to set it for 1 pixel, choose 2 if you prefer a bolder crop mark. 

Line tool Weight set to 1 px

Drag the line across each of the 4 guides. 

Thin crop lines drawn along all four guides across the poster

Make sure you start off the canvas to make sure the lines are all the way to the edges.

You can hide the guides if you like: view>show and click off the guides

Close-up of a thin line running along the top trim edge

Let’s trim the crop marks.

Press Cmd/Ctrl+A to select all. 

Keyboard shortcut Cmd+A on Mac and Ctrl+A on Windows to select all

Choose Select>Modify>Contract or use the task bar.

Contextual Task Bar menu with Contract Selection being chosen

Enter 20 pixels and click ok.

Contract Selection set to 20 pixels, with the note at 300 ppi 1/8 inch equals 37.5 pixels

You should see your selection cover all the lines except the corners.

Selection covering the crop lines except at the corners

Press Delete.

Here’s your crop marks in each corner.

Finished crop mark at the corner of the poster after deleting the lines

That’s it!

To make it easy for you, I have created an action. It’s called Add Bleed and Crop. You’ll find it under Colin’s Bonus action group when you have download the free actions from the vault. You can access all the freebees at the vault here. 

Actions panel with the Add bleed and crop marks action highlighted

I hope you found this tutorial useful!

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

4 comments

  1. Hi Colin, this is especially handy for the printing industry.
    I was hoping your tutorial would be explaining a new automated feature though, rather than the steps for an extremely manual process. Let’s hope Adobe can make this an auto feature. Love your tutorials.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Thanks. Adobe didn’t add it as a new feature, but you can automate it with the action at the end of the tutorial

  2. Geoff Baylis

    Hi Colin, I’ve just tried your Bleed action in the Actions Pack. For me it doesn’t quite work correctly, as having created the 4 lines, when the action executes the ‘delete’ command it just deletes the last line that I drew, not the parts of the lines within the selected area.

    What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks, Geoff

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Also make sure you are using “pixels” for the lines and not paths or shapes

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link