How to make a sticker in Photoshop

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

How to make a Sticker in Photoshop

In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to turn a photo into a sticker in Photoshop. First of all, we will make a sticker effect.

I will also show you how to export a digital sticker with a transparent background. I’ll also tell you how to make it a print sticker..

Collage of blue-tinted sticker cutouts of a woman with flowers, each with a white border

Start with a photo, or an illustration.

Studio portrait of a woman with pink roses and hydrangeas on a peach background

Separate the image from the background.

Choose the Object selection tool

Object Selection Tool highlighted in the Photoshop toolbar menu

Click Select subject.

Select Subject button in the Object Selection options bar

Use the selection tools to refine the selection, hold shift to add to the selection and Alt/Option to remove from selection.

This isn’t a selection tutorial, but I have plenty here. More tutorials on removing an image from the background here.

You should see your marching ants selection.

Marching-ants selection around the woman and her flowers

Press Cmd/Ctrl+J to copy the selection to a new layer.

Layers panel with the cutout copied to Layer 1 above the original

Click FX to add layer styles.

Choose stroke

fx Layer Styles button highlighted at the bottom of the Layers panel

Give it a nice thick white outer stroke.

Thick white outside Stroke layer style giving the cutout a sticker border

Optional: Click on Color overlay and give it a solid color. This is just an option of you want that.

Color Overlay in blue with Color blend mode turning the cutout blue

Add a drop shadow to lift it off the background.

Drop Shadow layer style enabled to lift the blue sticker off the background

Click ok.

Lets make it look a little bit more like a poster effect.

Click on new adjustment layer and Posterize.

Adjustment layer menu with Posterize highlighted

Set levels to 3.

Click the icon to clip the effect to just the layer we are working on. (See the red box).

Posterize set to 3 levels and clipped to the sticker layer, clip button highlighted

If you want to reduce the posterization effect, lower the opacity of the Posterize adjustment layer.

Posterize adjustment layer opacity lowered to 82% to soften the effect

How to save an image with a transparent background from Photoshop

Lets look at creating a digital sticker with transparency.

Hide the background layer.

Eye icon highlighted to hide the background layer in the Layers panel

You should see a checkerboard pattern. This is transparency in Photoshop.

Blue sticker with white border on a transparent checkerboard background

Let’s trim off the extra canvas around the transparent shape. You don’t need to crop, because Photoshop has a nice tool.

Choose Image>Trim

Select Transparent Pixels and click ok.

Trim dialog with Based On Transparent Pixels selected

Let’s export it.

Choose File>Export>Save For Web

Choose PNG-24 and make sure transparency is checked.

Click ok

Save for Web set to PNG-24 with Transparency checked

Save your file.

Now you can use it on documents and the transparency will show.

Finished digital sticker with transparent background ready to export

Making a printed sticker.

The important thing here is making sure you are at print resolution.

Set the resolution Image>Image size to 300ppi (dpi). Resolution explained here

When you have finished designing your sticker, convert to CMYK mode. Image>Mode CMYK.

Some things to bear in mind. If you are using an irregular edge, the printer will have to create a die and die-cut the shape. This is more expensive than making a rectangular/square/circular sticker.

More info on prepping a file for commercial printing.

I hope you found this tutorial helpful!

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

7 comments

  1. John Owen Wilson

    Hi Colin,
    Thank you for an excellent tutorial. Would this work with a Mac or are there different steps/instructions. I am trying to make a baby mobile for my granddaughter which is very personalised. Cutting out the shapes of the objects in plywood from photos then applying this to the plywood cut outs would be no problem but painting them would be, in addition to obtaining child proof/safe paints.
    Best regards,
    John Wilson.

  2. Sidney Davenport

    I clicked the link for “More info on prepping a file for commercial printing” because that’s something that I often have to teach to colleagues. I am not succinct enough so I was looking for help. Is that a really old document? It suggests .eps files and doesn’t mention .pdf files. Thanks.

  3. Dwarf Elf

    Making stickers for a thing. Some I’ve drawn using illustrator, others – using photoshop. It appears it is required of me to have a blue offset path as a cutting guide. So this technique doesn’t really do it for me. Any suggestions?

  4. Hi

    When I choose color overlay it only allows me to choose black. Is there a reason I am unable to select blue? Thank you

  5. Diedra Eby

    Thank you so much for this brilliant tutorial. So easy to follow. I wish the ones on Photoshop were this clear.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link