Change these Photoshop settings today

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

Over time, the interface in Photoshop keeps changing. Sometimes things are better and sometimes you prefer the way they used to work, or you just want to customize some things. These 7 settings will save you a lot of time and stop your workflow from being interrupted.

Stop Showing the Home Screen

The Photoshop Home Screen is loved by some and loathed by others. While it’s nice to see thumbnails for previous documents as well as shortcuts, it’s also become a billboard for Adobe to bring your attention to things.

Photoshop Home Screen with recent file thumbnails and promotional suggestions

When you launch Photoshop. you are greeted with this screen. Also when you close all the documents, it appears. If you want to go to a blank Photoshop with no documnent, you have to click the PS icon in the top-left corner. But you can turn this off and have PS skip it on launch and not appear when you close your doc. You know, like how it used to work, eons ago.

Choose Photoshop Preferences. Photoshop>Settings  (Edit>Preferences (or settings) on Windows).

Choose General and uncheck the box next to: Auto Show the Home Screen.

Now, it won’t appear. You can always access the Home Screen by clicking the House icon on the top Left of Photoshop.

Photoshop Preferences General tab with Auto show the Home Screen highlighted

Better Ai Selections

While it’s not perfect, I really love the Auto Selection tools in Photoshop. Select Subject is a really useful tool.

Choose the Quick Selection, Magic Wand or Object selection tool and you will see the Select Subject button appear at the middle of the top toolbar.

Click the arrow and notice 2 settings. Device and Cloud. By default, device is selected because you don’t need internet and its faster. If you are connected to the internet, the Cloud setting will create a more accurate selection because it’s able to leverage Adobes server farm to boost the computing performance.

Problem is, you have change it EVERY time, it’s not sticky. BUt ypou can change the default behaviour.

Select Subject menu with Device (Quicker results) and Cloud (Detailed results)

In Preferences go to Image Processing.

At the top you’ll see, “Select Subject and remove Background”. Change it to Cloud and it will now use that setting every time, unless you choose device.

Image Processing preferences with Select Subject and Remove Background set to Cloud

Loading the free  Adobe presets

Photoshop comes loaded with lots of extras. Brushes, gradients, patterns, color swatch, shapes, layer styles and more.

If you will in the panels, you will see a few, but there are much more that you don’t see.  Let’s get them!

Gradient picker with presets organized into folders like Basics, Blues and Grays

Choose the panels, not the tools. For example, Window>Gradient.

Gradients panel with folders of gradient presets

Click the menu in the top right.

You will see Legacy Gradients. Click it.

Gradients panel menu with Legacy Gradients highlighted

Now you’ll get a whole ton of presets load up. Many of these are better than the default ones in Photoshop currently.

Try that for other panels to load up all the extras.

We also have a ton of free Brushes, actions, presets, ebooks and more at the Photoshop Vault. 

Legacy Default Gradients loaded in the Gradients panel, with more legacy folders below

Make Tools easier to use

If you have used Photoshop for a while, you will remember there used to be a bar with the most useful presets at the top.

Now everything is hidden away in folders. Some may say “organized” into folders. We will use Gradients for this.

Lets get the most useful tools back to within arm’s reach.

Top of the gradient picker highlighted where presets used to sit

Pop open the basics

Click to select a preset. Hold Cmd/Ctrl and Click to select multiple swatches.

Selecting the Basics gradients to move them out of the folder

Drag above the Folder. You will see a blue line appear when you are above the folder. Release and the Gradients have been moved out of the folder.

When you go to the tools, you will see that they have been moved there too and are much easier to grab. Try this with other presets too and put all your favs within easy reach.

Basic gradients now at the top of the Gradients panel, outside any folder

Longer Show Recents list

When you choose File>Open Recent you will see a list of previous images you worked on. By default, there are 20. Lets make it longer shall we?

File menu Open Recent list showing the default 20 recent files

In Prefs, choose File Handling.

Under Recent File list at the bottom, type in 100 (This is the maximum number).

Click ok

File Handling preferences with Recent File List Contains set to 100

Now when you open the recents, it shows 100. It remembered them all, even though it didn’t show them all.

Open Recent list now showing many more recent files

Custom Workspace

A useful way to work, is to set up a custom Workspace with just the tools that you use.

Close all the panels except the ones you want. I often have just Layers/Channels/Paths, Properties and the Library.

Minimal workspace with only Properties and Layers panels open

Go to the toolbar and click and hold the elipses.

Three-dot Edit Toolbar button highlighted in the toolbar

Customize toolbar will appear. Click Restore Defaults and make sure everything is depressed in the Show at the bottom. This will load in all tools including brand new ones. (This is the leading reason people don’t see a new tool, because they are using and old-workspace, created before that tool existed).

Or, If you prefer to not include certain tools, drag them into the Extra column.

Click Done

Customize Toolbar dialog with Restore Defaults highlighted

Choose Window>WorkSpace>New Workspace

Name it and turn on Shortcuts, Menus and toolbar. Click Save.

New Workspace dialog with Keyboard Shortcuts, Menus and Toolbar checked

To restore that workspace, choose Window>Workspace>Reset…

Clutter be gone!

Window Workspace menu with Reset Colin Min highlighted

Task Bar Pin

The Contextual taskbar (Window>Contextual taskbar), is actually quite useful and getting more useful as Adobe adds more tools to it.

But it can be annoying when it pops up over you work.

Hit the elipses on the right and choose Pin bar Position.

Now it will stay wherever you put it.

Contextual Task Bar menu with Pin bar position highlighted

I hope you found these tips useful.Great to see you here at the CAFE

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

12 comments

  1. Dave Reasons

    I request permission to publish this article in our 3CT Newsletter. You will be given attribution. Our newsletter goes out to 13 camera clubs in Tennessee.
    Additionally, I am the President of 3CT.

  2. Ron Eccles

    Hi. At one time photoshop users used to be able to select an are of a photo by using the mouse and pointer, but this ability seems to have vanished. Not just on a new version, but whilst using an existing version. There used to be a way to turn something on, to be able to use the feature again, but either I have forgotten how to do it, or the ability has somehow vanished again. I am not a heavy used of photo editing, but I like to try the odd thing occasionally. I use CC22.3.2

  3. Samuel Yaffe

    I clicked the ellipses on the tool bar and somehow managed to get rid of it. How do I get it back?

  4. Samuel Yaffe

    I clicked the ellipses on the tool bar and somehow managed to get rid of it. How do I get it back?

    AND

    When I try to post this comment – for the very first time – it gets rejected, with the claim I’ve posted it before.

  5. Dr Kerry A Boytell

    THANK YOU COLIN. VERY INFORMATIVE AND VERY USEFUL.
    I changed everything as you went along.

  6. Frances W

    Thank-you so much for this quick list! It saved me so much time and and a bit of anxiety. Legacy Gradients, etc.; Longer recents file list; Restore my custom workspace: All of these needed to be put right, again, but I did not know where to start until now. Also, I just got your Photoshop Layers course and am looking forward to getting into some of the awesome creative techniques you teach in there. Wish me luck!

  7. Frances W

    Really appreciated this list! I was able to reclaim some gradients that I thought were gone, and now I know how to keep them handy; re-organized my workspace to the way I like it – now with a few new features (since my last up-grade); and as a bonus, the recents list now fits my needs so much better when set at 100. Thank-you!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link