Creating Wood texture in Photoshop Tutorial

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

Step 1

I started with a new document at 800 X 800 pixels, RGB and 72 dpi. The size doesn’t matter really.

Screen Shot 2014-08-03 at 11.28.58 AM

Set your foreground and background colors to light and dark wood tones as shown.

Step 2

Choose Filter>Render>Fibers.

This is where you will dial in the wood texture. Experiment with different variance and strength settings for different results.
Fibers filter dialog turning the colors into a wood grain texture, Variance 16 and Strength 4 

Step 3

You will now have a texture that looks like wood. If you don’t like it, undo and try the fibers again with different settings.

I like to stretch the texture a little bit.

Choose Image>Image size and make the height 2x the width (800×1600)

Screen Shot 2014-08-03 at 11.31.07 AM

Step 4

Many times you may prefer the texture to be horizontal. In this case choose Image>rotation> 90 Clockwise

wood3

Step 5

For a touch or realism, let’s add some knots (optional)

Choose the elliptical marquee tool and make oval shaped selections. In this case I made 2 selections. Tip: Hold down the shift key to add a second selection.

wood4

Step 6

Before we add the knots, let’s make sure they blend in. Choose Select>Modify Selection>Feather and choose 30 pixels

Choose distort>Twirl to create the effect. I chose and angle of 205. This setting will all depend on the resolution of your image and how tight you want the knot to appear.

wood5

Step 7

One last thing to give it that final polish, and this is optional.

Choose Filter>Sharpen>Unsharp Mask to define the wood a little but more.

Amt:91

Radius: 2.2

wood6

There you have it, wood texture in Photoshop.

finished-wood

Feel free to comment and let us know what tutorials you would like to see in the future.


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

5 comments

  1. Quirky Sewing

    amazing! this was an awesome tutorial, thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Susana Burgess

    Awesome! How do I load that into my gradients / patterns ?

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Save it to your library if you are in CC. otherwise select it and then choose edit>define pattern

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link