Photoshop 2022 Learning Center. New Features in Photoshop 2022

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

What’s new in Photoshop 2022 Photoshop v23

Here is a list of the new features in Photoshop 2022 along with tutorials in how to use them. Watch the top feature video and then I’ll be adding a new video every day this week! As always, we have you covered here at photoshopCAFE on day ONE!

New Features in Photoshop 2022

Every year, at the beginning of Adobe MAX, Adobe drops the biggest update to most of its CC products. Photoshop, Camera RAW and Lightroom are definitely a big part of that. Check out my other post on the new features in Lightroom (Masking Panel, it’s HUGE!)

The biggest features in Photoshop (IMO) are Improved Object Selection and some powerful Neural Filters.

Object Selection

Object Selection gets a major update. It’s like science fiction, or maybe just how friends and clients always though Photoshop worked from watching TV shows, where they yell “enhance” or click something and suddenly its extracted from the background.

Weathered blue rowboats at a wooden dock on a lake open in Photoshop 2022

This is exactly what happens.

When you choose the Object Selection tool, Photoshop automatically analyzes the image using AI and decides which objects can be extracted. As you roll over different people or objects, a blue silhouette will appear over them. Simply click and a selection will be created around the object. This is different than the select subject button, because this new method can identify and isolate many different objects in an image.

Front rowboat highlighted in blue by Object Finder on hover  Middle rowboat highlighted in blue by Object Finder     Back rowboat highlighted in blue by Object Finder

The algorithm for making AI powered selections has been improved for even more accurate selections than before.

At the time of testing, the “object Finder” is only enabled when the Object Selection tool is enabled. You will see a spinning arrow to indicate the tool is at work.  If you find this is distracting while working there is an Object Finder checkbox, so you can quickly turn this feature on or off.

Click the options to enable lots of options such as color and opacity of overlay, as well as an option to add an outline to it.

All the rowboats and dock highlighted in blue at once

You can also Turn the overlay to always on, always off or auto (rollover the default). Interesting to note, in always off, you can still click an object to select it.

Object Finder settings with Object Subtract, refresh mode and overlay options

You will see another option to auto refresh and manual refresh under Object Finder modes. The manual would be useful for those times when you are cloning etc and you don’t want it constantly updating the overlays.

Apart from the obvious, cutting out and masking separate objects, these quick selection can come in handy for retouching, dodging and burning and other enhancement tasks with adjustment layers, or working on a single layer.

There is also a really handy option to turn every detected object into a separate layer mask. Choose Layer>Mask all Objects. This creates an empty layer group with a mask for each object. This has lots of uses.

Layer menu with Mask All Objects highlighted over the rowboats  Layers panel with seven Background Object groups, each with its own mask

AI Powered selections and Masks in Camera RAW

This is a huge, if not the biggest improvement to come to Camera Raw and Lightroom in many, many years. We have the ability to select sky and select object in Camera RAW. Because this works identical to Lightroom, I won’t repeat everything here, see my Lightroom New Features article for and in depth look at this feature.

This also comes with a masking panel that allows to to select the different masks, as well as combine, extract or intersect with each other or other local tools including gradient, radial and adjustment brush. All of these tools as well as the 3 range masking tools all live in the same place and can be called by clicking on the mask button.

Camera Raw masking panel with Select Subject, Select Sky and other mask tools

New Neural Filters

There are 3 new AI powered Neural filters added to this release of Photoshop.

Harmonizer, Color Transfer and Landscape Mixer.

Harmonizer.

A welcome update to Match Color. When you are combining images, (compositing and collaging) very often (usually) the color and tones don’t match between the different photographs. Its a lot of work to match the images so they look like they actually belong together.

Man and woman back to back with arms crossed composited on a stormy mountain backdrop

Now you can choose the layer you want to adjust, choose Filters>Neural Filters>Harmonize.

Neural Filters Harmonization with Select a layer for the reference image

Choose the layer you want to match under the Reference Image.

Harmonization matching the couple's color to the mountain background layer

AI goes to work and adjusts the tone and color of your layer.

Harmonization Strength and color sliders adjusted for the couple

You can change any of the color values (all 6 primaries are there).

The common sliders you will adjust are the Saturation and Brightness.

You can output onto same Layer, new Layer or Smart Object.

Couple blended with cooler tones to match the stormy mountain background

I can see this being a very popular tool with compositors.

Color Transfer.

Another AI Powered tool that I think people will really love is the Color Transfer. I’m sure you have used color or gradient overlays, perhaps even gradient Maps These are really good tools for color grading images.

Dune buggy driving over golden sand dunes under a pale sky

Color transfer takes this to a different level.

I’m going to start with a creative way I would use this and then we will look at the basic options (kinda reverse of what people normally do).

Lets make this photo of dune buggy look like its on Mars.

I took a screen capture from the movie The Martian.

Orange dusty alien landscape screen capture used as a color reference

Choose Filter>Neural Filters> Color Transfer.

Neural Filters Color Transfer with the desert dune buggy photo

Choose custom and select the screen capture from the File Browser.

Notice how it applies the color effect is a really good way.

Desert scene turned deep orange by Color Transfer from the reference

You can change the settings to customize the result.

There are masking tools on the left so you can remove the color effect selectively.

Color Transfer with Preserve luminance checked for a lighter peach tone

The other option, is to drag a box in the reference image window. This box enables us to isolate a part of the image to be used for the transfer, rather than the entire image.

Reference image panel with a crop box and Clear crop for sampling color

See the result we can get. So show how well it works, I took a screen capture of the gradient panel and applied a single gradient using the color transfer with the selection tool.

Dune buggy scene tinted orange from the cropped reference color

If you want to just go quick, start with the presets and choose one from the list. Personally I think the power of this filter is in using custom images.

Color Transfer preset giving the dunes a bright orange and red look

Landscape Mixer.

Maybe not as practical as the other 2 filters I just showed you is the landscape mixer. This is a very powerful and a little unusual. I think concept artists will like it. This is the way to copy the properties from one environment to another. For example, take a desert scene and apply an oasis to it.

Original dune buggy photo for the Landscape Mixer example

Look at our same desert scene with the dune buggy. You can make it grassy or snowy.

Landscape Mixer turning the sand dunes into green grassy hills

 

Landscape Mixer winter preset covering the dunes in snow

You may have noticed the dune buggy also changes.

Dune buggy turned into a grassy shape by Landscape Mixer

Fortunately Masking is available, including select subject from the top

Masking the dune buggy back into the green hills with Select Subject

You can also mask manually using the brushes on the left. Or just output to a new layer and mask in photoshop using the object selection tools.

Final dune buggy driving through green grassy hills

Other new features worth mentioning are:

  • illustrator to PS (Paste as layer into Photoshop for Illustrator and maintaining vector shapes in Layers).
  • Share commenting
  • Apple XDR Monitor Support
  • Export As 2 up
  • Content Authenticity
  • Oil Paint GPU
  • GPU rulers
  • Enhanced Stylus support Windows
  • Improved Color management
  • Masking in Lightroom

This is the start of our Photoshop 2022 Learning Center. Drop back every day this week for new content!

Photoshop 2022 Superguide

See you at the CAFE

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

11 comments

  1. Daniel Martin

    Wow!!!! Wowww! Can’t wait to try this new version!!!♫♥♥ Thank you my friend…

  2. Sheila Macdonald

    Hi Colin, I tried the new Object Selection Tool and it works fine except that the color overlay doesn’t show. Is there a reason for this? Something I missed?

    Sheila Macdonald

  3. Ian Garriques

    Colin, Do you know if the new PS and LR updates will run with MacOS Big Sur. My MacBook Pro is a mid 2014 model and can no longe update to the new OS (Monterey). It did update to Big Sur v11.6.1. Thanks, Ian

  4. Kelly Ward

    Fantastic! Can’t wait for my Mac to arrive in the next couple of weeks so I can try these out! I am especially excited about the object selection and color swap options — I have been struggling with workarounds for both of these for so long and with such frustration!! Now if they would just make a brush tool that adds and subtracts contrast (in fully adjustable amount) )without affecting color — PLEASE tell me they’ve added that! Can’t wait for the rest of the week’s tutorials, thank you!!

  5. Well done Colin. That is a brilliant lesson. Whilst I have learned a lot from Ramelli and Nace, they drive me nuts by inundating me with ads their paid-for content. You are cool and laid back and that is why I buy your stuff when I see something that I like. Thanks for what you do.

  6. Richard Warriner

    Hi Clolin,
    Great video on the new filters w/Adobe Photoshop!! I am going to be following your videos from now on. Do you know if I sign up w/ Adobe in Nov/21 will it come with the yr.22 filters?
    Thanks, Richard Warriner

  7. Tilman Bunch

    I have the same issue as Sheila Macdonald reported. The colored overlay does not show. I am on version 23.0.1 Any help will be appreciated.

  8. This new feature, “interoperability with Illustrator,” is my favorite new feature. It’s the most astonishing thing that’s happened to me in a long time.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link