How to make smoke, steam and clouds in Photoshop, brushes included.

Colin Smith

How to make Smoke, steam and clouds in Photoshop. How to paint with the brushes, how to make the brushes and download free smoke brushes

Subscribe on YouTube:

Make Smoke in Photoshop, and steam, fog, clouds etc.

This Photoshop tutorial shows you how to make Smoke and steam with Photoshop Brushes. You will also learn how to make the brushes. If you would rather just download the brushes, grab them here.

Learning how to make brushes, is a useful skill in Photoshop. See the written steps here. To really see the brush in action, the video will show this the best.

Using Smoke/clouds brushes

We are going to start with using the brushes, because some people will have already downloaded them and want to learn how to use them. Then in the second part, I’ll show you how to make them.

Tip: Double click the brushes you downloaded to load them into Photoshop.

PhotoshopCAFE-CloudBrushes.abr brush file icon

You can grab a set of brushes at photoshopcafe.com/vault or Make your own (later on in this tutorial)

Colin Smith with the free cloud and smoke brushes from PhotoshopCAFE.com/vault

This step is optional, but if you seperate the subject from the background, you can also apply smoke behind the subject. How to cut something out in Photoshop

Chess pieces glowing against an orange planet, labeled separate layers allows depth

Choose the Brush tool (B key)

Choose a Cloud brush

Brush preset picker with the PhotoshopCAFE cloud and smoke brushes loaded

If you are using a Pressure sensitive tablet such as a Wacom, Choose Shape dynamics to change the size with pen pressure and also Transfer to use Pen pressure for opacity.

Brush Settings with Shape Dynamics and Transfer set to Pen Pressure for a cloud brush

Choose a gray color in the color swatch

Drop the flow to around 10% an Opacity to 15-20%.

Apply the brush, dabbing, rather than dragging to preserve more texture.

Chess scene with the cloud brush cursor, labeled Pro tip: dab, don't drag

 

Thin wisps of smoke painted at the base of the chess pieces

Keep building up the smoke.

Thicker gray smoke rolling across the chessboard

Choose white and add more smoke. Varying the tones (grays and white) will give more depth.

White and gray smoke swirling around the chess pieces in front of the orange glow

If you want to separate your objects from the smoke, apply a layer mask.

Click on new layer mask in the Layers panel.

Layers panel with a masked smoke Layer 1 above the chess pieces

Change the foreground color to black and keep using the cloud brush. As you paint on the layer mask, you will mask away the smoke in the areas that you want to reduce it.

The video shows the brush work much better and explains it in detail.

Smoke partly masked so the front chess pieces show through

How to make a cloud brush, smoke brush in Photoshop

To make a brush, first start with a white canvas. File>New

Choose a soft round brush, turn opacity and flow to 100.

Dab to create a roundish shape. It can be on a new layer, or on the background, it doesn’t matter.

Soft black brush dab on a white canvas to start a cloud brush

Switch between black and white and create a half round looking shape that is a little irregular and soft edged.

Black and white soft dabs forming a half round cloud shape

Using the rectangular marquee tool, make a selection around the brush shape you have created.

Choose Edit>Define Brush Preset

Define Brush Preset highlighted in the Photoshop Edit menu

Give it a name and click on to make a new brush.

Brush Name dialog for the new 306 pixel cloud brush

You can find the new brush in the Brushes Panel or the Brush Settings.

Choose Scattering in Brush Settings. (Window>Brush Settings)

I’m going to share the settings that I used in this tutorial. However, you don’t have to use these settings, and I would probably use different ones each time I create a brush. The point it to see the settings that need to be changed and keep testing the brush until its just the way you want it. After all, not all counds and smoke are the same.

Increase scatter to over 150% somewhere. Different amounts will produce a different result, so, experiment, depends how dense you want to your clouds or smoke.

Change count to 2

Brush Settings Scattering at 171 percent with Both Axes and Count 2

Choose Brush Tip Shape

Adjust the spacing until you see some overlapping in the preview, but not too much.

Brush Tip Shape spacing at 28 percent showing overlapping cloud dabs

Choose Shape dynamics

Increase Size Jitter (Jitter means randomness). Here I used 42%

Put a small amount of Roundness Jitter, around 9% or so and turn Angle Jitter to 100%

Shape Dynamics with Size Jitter 42 percent, Angle Jitter 100 and Roundness Jitter 9

Under Transfer jitter, adjust the flow to around 35%

Transfer settings with Flow Jitter at 35 percent

Here I’m testing the brush and it seems to be working nicely.

Remember to lower the opacity or flow (or both) before using the brush.

 

Soft gray cloud painted with the new custom cloud brush

I hope you found this little tutorial useful.

Let me know in the comments what you’d like to see me make tutorials on.


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

6 comments

  1. Art Cayer

    Thanks for the great videos, I have learned a lot from your LFL Photoshop training. I have a suggestion for a future video. I went to the Lincoln Memorial on March 20, 2021 before dawn to photograph the memorial with the Golden Sunrise light on the Memorial during the Spring Equinox last week end. Fantastic light on the memorial, but the only problem with the photos is that the US. Park Service has not cleaned the Statue of Lincoln in several years from the abount of Dust and Dirt on the Monument. I wold like to know if there is a way to use the Layers and Masking in Photoshop to get rid of the brownish dirt color on the Marble Statue and make it more white?
    I have put the jpeg and the raw (Sony camera) file in this transfer link on DROPBOX,, if you would like to take a look at the appearance of the file https://www.dropbox.com/t/LYLIk4nqLsnOTT4A.
    Hope you find this an interesting project for a Photoshop Training Video.

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Id love to look at it. Says the link has expired though, can you post a new one?

  2. Steve Gibbs

    Excellent Colin! I created my first Fog brush and was amazed and how good the results were on a mustard vineyard image i have wanted to add a fog layer too. WOW!

    1. Colin Smith Author

      I’m glad it worked out for you! That’s my goal 🙂

  3. Elaine Pullum

    This looks great, can’t wait to try it. However, I tried to download your cloud brushes from the PhotoshopCAFE Vault but it won’t open. It says “Unable to expand … into Downloads (Error 32 – Broken pipe). Guess I’ll have to make my own.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link