Amazing color and texture in your photos with LAB color in Photoshop tutorial

Colin Smith

Photo editing in LAB color in Photoshop to get amazing texture and color and how to mask your photos for extra punch

Subscribe on YouTube:

In this tutorial I’m going to show you Photo Editing with LAB in Photoshop. You’ll learn how to take control over the detail, texture and color of your photo in an amazing way. We’re going to be doing that using LAB Mode and you’ll also learn couple of useful tricks along the way.

Red sandstone rock formation under a blue sky with rich color and texture from LAB editing

 

I started with this photo.

Starting photo of a red rock formation with green shrubs, flat and muted in color

Step 1
Choose Image>Mode>Lab Color

Hit Ctrl J to make a duplicate layer ()Just so we can easily see a before / after when we are done)

Layers panel with the duplicated Layer 1 circled above the Background

Step 2

Next, create a Curves adjustment layer.

Adjustment layer menu at the bottom of the Layers panel with Curves highlighted

Instead of RGB, you’ve now got Lightness, a and b. (LAB)

Curves properties in Lab mode showing the Lightness, a and b channel menu

Step 3

Select A channel and adjust curves as shown  (dragging to the 1/4 mark)

Curves on the a channel steepened toward the quarter marks over the red rock photo

Step 4

Switch to B channel and pull that line to about the same amount as you did with channel A.
Curves channel menu set to b, circled in red

Curves on the b channel steepened the same amount to boost color

You will now see a boost in color

Step 5

Create a second Curves adjustment layer.(You can usully apply this adjustment to the same adjustment layer, but I want to be able to separate color from tone )

Red rock photo with boosted color and the Curves adjustment selected in the menu

Layers panel with a second Curves 2 adjustment layer circled

Under Curves Properties, select Lightness and pull that line to make details stand out.

Lightness curve with an S shape bringing out detail in the red rocks

Step 4 Isolating the adjustment to the rocks only

With the mask selected, choose Select>Color Range
Select menu with Color Range highlighted while the Curves 2 mask is selected

Color Range preview in black and white, with the shrubs selected instead of the rock

Step 5

With the eyedropper tool. Click inside the rock area to select it

Color Range preview showing only highlights of the rock face selected

Hit the eyedropper with the little +.

Color Range dialog with the Add to Sample eyedropper circled and Fuzziness at 21

Drag it through the rock area to add it to the selection

Dragging the add eyedropper across the rock face with Color Range open

step 6

Adjust fuzziness to make sure you’ve selected most of the rock and nothing else.

Color Range preview with the whole rock formation selected in white

Click OK.

Now just the rocks have the contrast adjustment applied and not the trees or sky.

Rocks Before/After.

Before and after of the rock formation with the texture curve applied only to the rocks

Step 7.Isolating an adjustment for the trees

Create a new Curves adjustment layer.

Layers panel with a third Curves 3 adjustment layer circled for the trees

Step 8

Adjust the curve to add details to the trees without affecting the color (Don’t worry about the rest of the image)

Lightness curve adding detail to the green trees below the red rocks.

Step 9

We want to isolate the effect to trees only.
With the mask selected, choose Select>Color Range

Layers panel with Curves 3 above Curves 2 and Curves 1

Click inside the tree area.

Color Range preview after clicking the trees, still selecting the rock area

Step 10

Hit that small eyedropper + icon.

Click on the tree area and drag it a little bit.

Color Range dialog with the add eyedropper dragged across the green trees

Now you’ve got the green area selected.
Click OK.

 

Note the difference between the trees Before/After.

Before and after of the trees below the rock with added detail on the left

Step 11 Going back to RGB mode

Go to Image>Mode>RGB Color

Click Flatten.

Photoshop warning when changing modes with the Flatten button underlined

Step 12 Finishing touches

Open the image in Camera Raw Filter.

Filter>Camera Raw Filter

I have adjusted Highlights, Exposure, Contrast, Blacks and Whites.

Camera Raw Basic panel with Exposure, Contrast, Highlights and Blacks adjusted

Here’s the final result.

Final photo of the red rock formation with rich color, texture and a blue sky

Here is the photo we started with and the final-result photo side by side.

Before and after of the red rock photo side by side, edited on the left

Zoom in to see the details and texture

.Zoomed in view of the red rock face showing detailed texture

Place the Before/After photo side by side.
Zoom in to compare the differences in details and texture.

Zoomed before and after of the rock texture, flat and dark on the right

Thanks for checking it out!

Isn’t this technique amazing? If you like tutorials like this one, please subscribe to our newsletter so you don’t miss new tutorials coming out every week. Add a comment! Let’s get a discussion going.
And until next time, I’ll see you at the Cafe.
Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

9 comments

  1. Rory Tate

    Colin,
    Bloody marvelous tut! LAB is the “only” way to go to edit your photos. You have an almost infinite amount of adjustment choices along with masking possibilities.
    You know what would be really cool – include a text list (1,2,3 etc) of the steps you cover in the video. That way we don’t have to scroll around looking for the section we want to review.
    Thanks so much for your generous sharing of you knowledge.

  2. Collin,
    That is such a great job you’ve done to teach us! Thank you.
    I have a question, after I applied color range, I saw its effect in a small icon, but not on a screen like in your case,
    can you, please, give a hint how to make it visible on the whole image?
    Thank you one more time!

  3. Jerry Keenehan

    Colin, another great way of editing images via Lab colors – never have run across it in any other tutorials of which I’ve taken a few.

    One little curve-ball that threw me a bit was when you had a Curves adjustment panel open and chose Select / Color Range – and your selection applied immediately to the Curves adjustment layer – mine did not. Then I realized that you had a (default all white) mask active on your Curves layer before you chose Select / Color range. The light bulb went on that I needed to either add a mask on the Curves layer beforehand or check the ‘Add Mask by Default’ option via the little drop-down arrow on the Adjustments panel. Checking that option automatically adds a default all-white mask to any new layer that you create if I have it right.

  4. Brilliant tutorial as usual from Colin. Learning so much from you. Thanks.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link