How to do Focus Stacking in Photoshop tutorial

Colin Smith

Subscribe on YouTube:

Merging multiple images to extend the focal plane.

Top use cases for focus stacking are, macro photography and close ups. Another situation I can think of is a group of people in a row and you are shooting long, you cannot get everyone in focus in a single shot. Also focus stacking is used a lot in product photography.

This tutorial shows you how to do focus stacking inside the Photoshop.

Step 1 capture multiple photos.

When you shoot close up, the focal plane isn’t wide enough to capture the entire image as sharp. So, we shoot the subject multiple times, shifting the focus on each, until we have captured the entire subject. Sometimes this may take only 2-3 photographs, usually a lot more. In this case, we were able to get most of it in 3. (At least good enough to do this quick, simple tutorial).

First photo has focus in the center and everything around is blurred.

Wooden printer's type case with metal letterpress type, focus on the middle compartments

Second and 3rd photos have the focus pushed back further.

The same type case with the focus pushed toward the back compartments

Third photo has the focus all the way back.

Step 2: Align the images

Load the 3 images into a layer stack. Use Scripts>Load images as stack, or manually drag them all in.

Notice the photos are not properly aligned

Third shot of the type case loaded as layers in Photoshop, focus at the backThe type case layers in Photoshop, slightly out of alignment

We need to align the photos in Photoshop, and Photoshop can automatically do that for us.

Select all three layers in the layers panel. (Shift select)

Layers panel with Layer 2, Layer 1 and Background selected together

Go to Edit>Auto-Align Layers

Choose Auto.

Auto-Align Layers dialog with the Auto projection option circled

Click OK.

Wait couple of seconds for the output to be generated.

Progress bar while Photoshop auto-aligns the type case layers

Now all the layers are aligned.

Aligned type case layers with transparent edges around the frame

Step 3: Blending the layers in Photoshop

Photoshop can blend all these layers together into 1 smooth photo.

Go to Edit>Auto-Blend Layers

Edit menu with Auto-Blend Layers highlighted

Select Stack Images.

Auto-Blend Layers dialog with Stack Images selected

Click OK.

Wait couple of seconds until layers are blended.

Progress bar while the layers are blended

Now layers are blended together.

Type case blended into one image with sharp focus throughout

You can check each layer and see the masking that photoshop has done.

One layer shown alone with the transparent areas masked out by Auto-Blend

If you want the whole photo sharp, you may need to take more pictures. You will get the hang of it after you have done a couple.

 

Step 4: Finishing touches

Let’s clean up the image.

Grab the Crop Tool. Close-up of the Crop Tool icon

Set the crop area by dragging on the image with the crop tool.

Crop box drawn inside the transparent edges of the stacked image

Hit Enter when you’re finished with setting the crop area.

Step 5

Put the layers into one smart object.

Select all layers

Go to Filter>Convert for Smart Filters

Click OK.

Dialog explaining the layers will be converted to a smart object for smart filters

Now you have one smart object.

Layers panel with the single Layer 2 smart object

 

Step 6: Camera Raw adjustments

 

Go to Filter>Camera Raw Filter

The focus-stacked type case open in the Camera Raw Filter

Pull down Highlights, Blacks and Vibrance a bit.

Increase Shadows, Contrast, Whites and Clarity.

Camera Raw Basic sliders adjusted for Contrast, Highlights, Shadows, Whites, Blacks and Clarity

Select Effects.

Effects tab icon circled in Camera Raw

Pull down Amount under Post Crop Vignetting to add a nice vignette (darken) around the edges.

Camera Raw Post Crop Vignetting Amount pulled down to darken the edges

Click OK.

And here’s the final image.

Final focus-stacked photo of the wooden type case, sharp front to back with a vignette

Thanks for keeping up with my tutorials. Subscribe to our newsletter and get new tutorials every single week.

Add a comment, let’s get discussion going. Let me know what you would like to learn and what you like and what you don’t like and until next time,

I will see you, at the cafe.

Colin


Follow along for more tips

Keep growing with Premium Courses

Photoshop 2026 for Digital Photographers

Learn Photoshop properly, from the basics to pro retouching, step by step.

$129.00 · one-time purchase · instant download

Photoshop Vault: free Layer Blend Modes ebook, actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets

Free for you

The Photoshop Vault

Get my free Layer Blending Modes ebook along with dozens of exclusive Photoshop goodies: actions, brushes, presets and cheat sheets.

You're on the list, so your free goodies are waiting for you in the Vault.

Get Free Photoshop Goodies Open the Vault

12 comments

  1. Stephen Cahill

    I have been trying for months to conquer this issue, Auto-aligning & then blending were’nt a problem, but result was abject failure! You’ve unlocked the next steps for me – Smart Filter & Camera Raw Feature – massive success!
    Thanks guys, this and your weekly tutorials have increased by skills incredibly!

  2. Sam Yaffe

    At the end of step 3, you have three layers, at the start of step 4 there’s only one, and then in step 5, there’s three again. Should step 5 come before step 4? Or am I missing something and, if so, what is it?

  3. steve kenny

    Yaffe, the screen capture in step 4 is just showing the “Crop Preview” hence the one layer showing in Layer Panel

  4. steve kenny

    …and I am sorry about addressing you by your last name only…I should be in bed right now 😉

  5. Thanks for posting this. I’ve been having problems with this process. After blending the images, I always get a weird x-ray image instead of the composite image I’m expecting. Any idea, what I am doing wrong?

  6. Doug Sooley

    When I stack the images, I cannot edit the resulting masks? I want to granularly edit the results and if I select a mask, I cannot paint anything out or in?? Why is this?

  7. So glad I found your tutorial. Thanks a million. No need to go out and buy additional stacking software.

  8. Todd Cary

    This is the best tutorial I have seen – Thank You! I have one question about the final file size: the Smart Object is made up of all of the layers and unless I missing something, that can be a BIG file. What is the best way to reduce the file size? Thank you, Todd

    1. Colin Smith Author

      Sure its bigger, but thats an issue these days. However if you save as a Tif with LZW compression it will be smaller

  9. Ned Martin

    How do you save the image ? As a JPG, Tif, PSD, Raw or what ? Do I just do a plain SAVE or a Save As ?
    Enjoyed your tutorial, thanks Ned

    1. Colin Smith Author

      You can save it however you would save a regular image

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link