Thread: Playhead Problem with Training DVD

Hybrid View

Decaf

Playhead Problem with Training DVD

I am new to PhotoshopCAFE. I just purchased my first PhotoshopCAFE training DVD, 'Photoshop Secrets CS3 for Digital Photographers'. I've viewed the first 15 tutorials and find the content and presentation excellent.

The problem I'm experiencing is that I cannot accurately reset the playhead. For example, when I'm viewing a tutorial and want to replay, say, the last 10 or 20 seconds, I move the playhead back but it leaps forward when I release the mouse button. I have to move the playhead back 2 or more minutes in order to review the desired section.

Obviously this is awkward and time consuming. Is my DVD defective or is this behavior typical? Any tips or comments are appreciated.

That is actually a limitation of the current Flash player. The scrubber is not very accurate, which is a shame, but not specifically a bug in the PhotoshopCafe Video player.

Hope that helps,

Matt

Decaf
    Thanks, Matt, for the reply. The Video Workshop DVD from Adobe CS3 also runs in Adobe Flash Player 9. However, it does not have the same scrubber problem. I can move the scrubber anywhere in the tutorial and get an instant replay from the point where I release the mouse. I did notice that the Video Workshop DVD displays more playback information (current time/total time) than does the PhotoshopCAFE DVD, which gives no playback information. Would this have to do with settings used when the recording was made? Perhaps that accounts for the scrubber problem during playback.

Just another thought, is there any adjustment I can make to my system or software that might help with this problem? Thanks.

Off hand I am not sure what causes this issue, however I will investigate it further and post back anything that we find. Thanks for the information, much appreciated.