PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from California

TMA Design
03-08-2009, 04:54 AM
Hi Everybody,

Just wanted to introduce myself:

I am a freelance designer and musician currently working on my Masters degree in Media Design. I was just turned on to this forum and am really impressed with the content and activity I have seen so far. I'm currently involved in an Ethics of Design course and wanted to throw out a question:
"What kind of effective guidelines are there to licensing art for reproductions, for example a clothing design that will be used for an undefined amount of prints?"

Cheers

rAyVoLvEz
03-08-2009, 06:51 AM
Hi and welcome!
As to your question, I think, as far as I know, will be agreement between the clothing company and the designer. In some cases, the designer gets to take a cut for every sales/reprints.

dave_100_uk2002
03-08-2009, 07:39 AM
Hey, Welcome to the Cafe TMA Design!

dogtrombone
03-08-2009, 08:22 AM
Hi and welcome.

In my experience, there are basically 2 ways to handle your issue.
1. You sell your design as a buyout, whereby you negotiate what you and the client think is a fair price, but you then have no further claim. Generally, this is unlikely be a significant amount to make it worth your while.
2. You negotiate a royalty deal with the client, whereby you get something (either a fixed sum, or a percentage) of every item bearing the design that is sold. You do stand to earn more this way, but his one is obviously way more complex to monitor, and you have to have full trust in the client not taking you to the cleaners.
(I had a situation of a publisher being somewhat economical with the truth when it came to declaring accurate sales of my designs... very messy, and difficult for me to prove).